Green Bay Packers

Green Bay Packers

The Green Bay Packers, based in Green Bay, Wisconsin, are one of the oldest franchises in the NFL, dating back to 1919. Known for their legendary players, historic Lambeau Field, and dedicated fan base, the Packers hold a unique and cherished position in the world of professional football.

via Imago


The Packers' journey began over a century ago when founded by Earl "Curly" Lambeau and George Calhoun. Lambeau, a former Green Bay East High School player, and Calhoun, a newspaper editor, formed the team in 1919. Initially sponsored by the Indian Packing Company, they adopted the name "Packers," which has remained unchanged.

The team quickly gained prominence and became a founding National Football League (NFL) member in 1921. Over the years, the Packers have amassed a remarkable legacy, boasting a multitude of NFL championships and four Super Bowl titles.

USA Today via Reuters

Vince Lombardi, who served as the head coach from 1959 to 1967, is one of the most significant figures in the Packers' history. Under his leadership, the team achieved unparalleled success, winning the first two Super Bowls and establishing the "Lombardi Era" as a defining chapter in NFL history.

The Packers have consistently been among the NFL's top contenders in recent years. Led by star quarterback Aaron Rodgers, they have maintained their winning tradition, making regular appearances in the playoffs and remaining a force to be reckoned with.

Team Info In a Nutshell

Home VenueLambeau Field
CityGreen Bay, Wisconsin
DivisionNFC West
Known AsPackers
OwnerGreen Bay Packers, Inc.
Worth$4.6 billion

2023 Schedule

The Green Bay Packers started their season with a victory against the Chicago Bears. However, after tasting success in the season opener, the Packers faced defeat against the Falcons in their second game. In the five games in the season, the Packers are moving forward with two victories and three losses.

The 2023 schedule of the Packers is as follows:

September 10Chicago BearsAwayW 38-20
September 17Atlanta FalconsAwayL 25-24
September 24New Orleans SaintsHomeW 18-17
September 28Detroit LionsHomeL 34-20
October 9Las Vegas RaidersAwayL 17-13
October 15BYETBD
October 22Denver BroncosAwayTBD
October 29Minnesota VikingsHomeTBD
November 5Los Angeles RamsHomeTBD
November 12Pittsburgh SteelersAwayTBD
November 19Los Angeles ChargersHomeTBD
November 23Detroit LionsAwayTBD
December 3Kansas City ChiefsHomeTBD
December 11New York GiantsAwayTBD
December 17Tampa Bay BuccaneersHomeTBD
December 24Carolina PanthersAwayTBD
December 31Minnesota VikingsAwayTBD
January 7Chicago BearsHomeTBD

2023 Players' Roster


Sean Clifford

Jordan Love

Running Backs:

AJ Dillon

Aaron Jones

Patrick Taylor

Emanuel Wilson

Wide Receivers:

Romeo Doubs

Malik Heath

Jayden Reed

Samori Toure

Christian Watson

Dontayvion Wicks

Tight Ends:

Josiah Deguara

Tucker Kraft

Luke Musgrave

Ben Sims


Josh Myers

Zach Tom


Elgton Jenkins

Royce Newman

Sean Rhyan

Jon Runyan

Offensive Tackle:

Caleb Jones

Yosh Nijman

Rasheed Walker

Defensive Ends:

Karl Brooks

Kingsley Enagbare

T.J. Slaton

Colby Wooden

Defensive Tackles:

Kenny Clark


De'Vondre Campbell

Brenton Cox Jr.

Rashan Gary

Isaiah McDuffie

Jon Runyan

Preston Smith

Kristian Welch

Eric Wilson

Quay Walker


Jaire Alexander

Rasul Douglas

Carrington Valentine


Zayne Anderson

Rudy Ford

Anthony Johnson Jr.

Dallin Leavitt

Darnell Savage

Jonathan Owens

Special Teams:

Anders Carlson

Matt Orzech

Daniel Whelan


The Packers won four Super Bowl championships with the latest one being under the leadership of the league?s oldest player, Aaron Rodgers. The Packers being the third oldest franchise in the NFL, started their victory stint in 1966, followed by a consecutive victory. In 1996, the Packers won their third Super Bowl title.?

Super Bowl Championships: 04

YearSuper BowlOpponentCoachStadium
2010(XLV)Pittsburgh SteelersMike McCarthy?Aloha Stadium, Halawa, Honolulu, Hawaii
1996(XXXI)New England Patriots Mike HolmgrenLouisiana Superdome, New Orleans, Louisiana
1967(II)Dallas Cowboys Vince LombardiOrange Bowl, Miami, Florida
1966(I)Dallas Cowboys Earl Louis "Curly" Lambeau Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum

AFC Championships: 03

1996Carolina PanthersMike HolmgrenLambeau FieldGreen Bay, WI
1997San Francisco 49ersMike HolmgrenCandlestick ParkSan Francisco, CA
2010Chicago BearsMike McCarthySoldier FieldChicago, IL

2023 Key Players:

Jordan Love- Quarterback

In the absence of Aaron Rodgers, who moved to the New York Jets after serving the Packers for 18 years, quarterback Jordan Love comes as his successor for the franchise. The 24-year-old quarterback is being shaped to take Rodgers? legacy forward. The entire Packers? camp is vouching for Love?s promising gameplay and showing signs of optimism in the coming years.

USA Today via Reuters

Christian Watson- Wide receiver

Christian Watson, the 24-year-old wide receiver, is the on-field target of quarterback Jordan Love. 2022 was his rookie season with the Packers, and in the following season, Watson played 14 games and completed the season with seven touchdowns and 611 receiving yards. In the 2023 season, Watson has to form a formidable duo with Love to stand firm against the opponent?s defense.

USA Today via Reuters

Lambeau Field,

Lambeau Field is in the north-central United States, in Green Bay, Wisconsin. The stadium was inaugurated in 1957. Earlier, the stadium was known as City Stadium, and after a stint of name-changing events, the stadium was renamed after the Packers? founder and head coach, Earl ?Curly? Lambeau.?

Packers Hall of Fame

The Packers have 28 individuals in the Pro Football Hall of Famers. Among the famers, defensive end Len Ford, linebacker Ted Hendricks, and guard/coach Walt Kiesling are the most prominent names.?

YearPlayer Name
1963Curly Lambeau
1963Robert Cal Hubbard
1963Don Hutson
1963Johnny "Blood" McNally
1964Clarke Hinkle
1964Mike Michalske
1967Tony Canadeo
1970Cal Hubbard
1972Ray Nitschke
1972Jim Taylor
1973Forrest Gregg
1973Bart Starr
1974Willie Davis
1974Henry Jordan
1975Jim Ringo
1975Emlen Tunnell
1976Herb Adderley
1979Willie Wood
1980Paul Hornung
1981Paul Hornung (Second Enshrinement)
1981Willie Davis (Second Enshrinement)
1982Arnie Herber
1983Clarke Hinkle (Second Enshrinement)
1984Forrest Gregg (Second Enshrinement)
1985Vince Lombardi
1986Paul Hornung (Third Enshrinement)
1987Paul Hornung (Fourth Enshrinement)
1987Jim Ringo (Second Enshrinement)
1987Paul Hornung (Fifth Enshrinement)
1989Ray Nitschke (Second Enshrinement)
1991Henry Jordan (Second Enshrinement)
1992Bart Starr (Second Enshrinement)
1993Don Hutson (Second Enshrinement)
1995Reggie White
2000Don Hutson (Third Enshrinement)
2001Tony Canadeo (Second Enshrinement)
2003Bart Starr (Third Enshrinement)
2006Forrest Gregg (Third Enshrinement)
2007Ray Nitschke (Third Enshrinement)
2009Herb Adderley (Second Enshrinement)
2010Willie Davis (Third Enshrinement)


Why does the Green Bay name include 'Packers'?

- In 1919, the franchise founder, Curly Lambeau, started a local football team in Green Bay, Wisconsin. During that time, he was working for the meat packing company Indian Packing as a clerk. After he convinced his employer to sponsor his team, the "Packers" was added.

Who is Green Bay's rival?

The Chicago Bears.?

Who runs the Packers?

- The Packers are publicly owned by a nonprofit corporation and are managed by a board of directors.?

When was the Packers' worst season?

-The 1958 season for the Green Bay Packers was their 40th overall and 38th in the National Football League. Under first-year head coach Ray McLean, the Packers finished last in the league in 1958 with a 1?10?1 record, the worst record ever posted by a Packers squad.

How much is Aaron Rodgers worth right now?

$200 million


Stories about America’s favorites Delivered Everyday

Friday, 19th Apr 2024

Load More

America’s Favorite Video Today