Three-Time Champion, Can Saina Nehwal Do It Again?

Published 06/02/2015, 2:25 PM EDT

All eyes will be on the four  times finalist, three time Champion, World No-1 Saina Nehwal when she starts her campaign in $800,000 Indonesia Open Superseries. Seeded 2nd in the tournament she faces World no-27 Nichaon Jindapost of Thailand at Istora Gelora Bung Karno stadium of Indonesia. Saina has defeated her in their last 3 meetings.

Indonesia Open has a special place in Saina’s life & career as it was her 1st Superseries title that she won back in 2009 against Wang Lin of China. She again successfully defended her title when she defeated Sayaka Sato of Japan in 2010. In 2011 she was again finalist here but lost to the then World no-1 Wang Yihan of China. She came back strongly in 2012 to triumph the title once again against Li Xuerui of China. But the last two years were not good for her, here at Indonesia. She’ll be eager to win here after her dismal show in Australian Open Superseries where she lost in quarters against World no-5 Wang Shixian of China.

World no-12 P V Sindhu of India will also begin her campaign against World no-26 Hsu Ya Ching of China. If both, PV Sindhu and Saina Nehwal are able to win their respective matches then they will be up against each other in the 2 Round. Last year P V Sindhu lost here in the very 1st round against Wang Yihan of China, who also defeated her in the 1st round of recently concluded Australian Open Superseries.

In the Men’s category World no- 4 Kidambi Srikanth will be up against World no- 15 Vans Hans Kristen Vittinghus of Denmark. 4th seeded Srikanth has recently beaten Danish player in the Australian Open Superseries. World no-12 Parupalli Kashyap meets World no-17 T. Saensomboonsuk of Thailand. Thailand player defeated   P. Kashyap in their last meeting in Hongkong Open Superseries last year and the Indian will be looking to settle the scores this time around.

In doubles category, the pair of Commonwealth gold medalists Jwala Gutta & Ashwini Ponappa will fight in Women’s doubles, while the pair of Akshay Dawalkar & Praanav Jerry Chopra alongside the pair of Many Attri & B. Sumeeth Reddy will try their luck in Men’s category.



Ankush Singh

21 articles