Israel Adesanya and Jorge Masvidal Bag Awards-More Surprise Names Included at World MMA Awards

Published 12/28/2020, 6:40 AM EST
NEW YORK, NEW YORK – NOVEMBER 02: Nate Diaz of the United States (R) fights against Jorge Masvidal of the United States in the Welterweight “BMF” championship bout during UFC 244 at Madison Square Garden on November 02, 2019 in New York City. (Photo by Steven Ryan/Getty Images)

The winners of the 12th World MMA Awards were recently announced. This award holds a special validation as fighters vote for their fellow fighters. Fighters from January 2019 to July 2020 are considered for the voting system.


Article continues below this ad

There were some notably expected winners like Israel Adesanya, Jorge Masvidal, Amanda Nunes, and more. Here we take a look at the list of winners.

ABU DHABI, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES – SEPTEMBER 27: Israel Adesanya of Nigerian is interviewed after defeating Paulo Costa of Brazil in their middleweight championship bout during UFC 253 inside Flash Forum on UFC Fight Island on September 27, 2020, in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates. (Photo by Josh Hedges/Zuffa LLC)

List of the winners


Article continues below this ad

Fighter of the year/International Fighter of the Year: Israel Adesanya

Israel Adesanya captured the undisputed middleweight gold at UFC 243 when he defeated Robert Whittaker. He also made a successful defense of his title in that time span against Yoel Romero at UFC 248.

Female fighter of the year: Amanda Nunes

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA – JUNE 06: Amanda Nunes of Brazil celebrates after her unanimous-decision victory over Felicia Spencer of Canada in their UFC featherweight championship bout during the UFC 250 event at UFC APEX on June 06, 2020, in Las Vegas, Nevada. (Photo by Jeff Bottari/Zuffa LLC)

Nunes knocked out Holly Holm and made two successful defenses of her title with decision wins over Germaine de Randamie and Felicia Spencer in the timespan. She had an incredible run and won the award deservingly.

Breakthrough fighter of the year: Jorge Masvidal

Jorge Masvidal had 2019 like no other fighter. First, he knocked out Darren Till in the Brit’s home soil. Then “Gamebred” went onto set the record for the fastest knockout in UFC history (5 seconds) as he landed a flying knee on Ben Askren. The at UFC 244, Masvidal main evented at Madison Square Garden against Nate Diaz and subsequently became the inaugural BMF champion.

Fight of the year: Zhang Weili vs Joanna Jedrzejczyk (UFC 248)

Weili Zhang and Joanna Jedrzejczyk fought an all-time classic at UFC 248. The two ladies were left bloodied and battle-scarred. In the end, the Chinese Zhang managed to get the win by a split decision over her counter-part.

Knockout of the year: Jorge Masvidal vs Ben Askren

Submission of the year: Demian Maia vs Ben Askren

Comeback of the year: Stipe Miocic vs Daniel Cormier (UFC 241)

Daniel Cormier vs Stipe Miocic 2 at UFC 241 was an all-time classic. While Cormier dominated the early rounds, Miocic put together an incredible comeback. He tweaked his gameplan and hurt Cormier with body shots. Eventually, the Cleveland firefighter got a knockout victory.

Upset of the year: Alexander Volkanovski vs Max Holloway (UFC 245)

Coach of the year: Trevor Wittman

Trainer of the year: Phil Daru

Gym of the year: American Top Team

Referee of the year: Herb Dean

Ringcard girl of the year: Brittney Palmer

Leading man: Dana White (UFC)

Best promotion: UFC

PASADENA, CALIFORNIA – AUGUST 07: Comedian Joe Rogan performs during his appearance at The Ice House Comedy Club on August 07, 2019, in Pasadena, California. (Photo by Michael S. Schwartz/Getty Images)

Personality of the year: Joe Rogan

Analyst of the year: Daniel Cormier

MMA journalist of the year: Ariel Helwani

Fighting spirit of the year: Dustin Poirier (The Good Fight Foundation)

Among notable nominees who didn’t win were Justin Gaethje, Douglas Lima, Brent Primus, Cody Garbrandt, and Sean O’Malley.


Article continues below this ad

Jorge Masvidal and Israel Adesanya won multiple awards

‘Gamebred’ and ‘The Last Stylebender’ had their efforts recognized as both of them won multiple awards. The two of them had some fantastic showings, as Masvidal’s career came into prominence more than ever. Furthermore, Israel Adesanya toppled Robert Whittaker to become the undisputed middleweight king.


Article continues below this ad

What do you make of the winners of the Global MMA awards? Did you think any fighter was more deserving than the eventual winner? Let us know in the comments.


Apratim Banerjee

706 articles

Apratim Banerjee is an MMA author for EssentiallySports and has been writing professionally for almost a year. Before his current gig, Apratim worked as a UFC writer for Sportskeeda. A long-time MMA fan, Apratim has developed a critical eye for the sport that has helped him transfer his vast knowledge to his copies and give hardcore and casual readers a detailed insight into the fights and fighters.