VAR Catches a Dive by Callum Hudson-Odoi During Chelsea’s Premier League Clash

Published 10/27/2019, 8:31 AM EDT


Chelsea player Callum Hudson-Odoi got into a spot of trouble for diving against Burnley. Initially, Chelsea were awarded a penalty, but a VAR review resulted in the penalty going the other way.

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

The Clarets were beaten by Chelsea despite late goals from Jay Rodriguez and Dwight McNeil. The Blues eventually won 4-2, courtesy a hat-trick for Christian Pulisic.

Sean Dyche’s men were infuriated when the referee awarded a penalty to Chelsea, with the score at 4-0, for a foul on Hudson-Odoi.

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

However, VAR overturned the official and the 18-year-old was then booked for diving, to the dismay of Frank Lampard.

Whilst replays showed there was no contact from James Tarkowski, there was contact on Hudson-Odoi’s back from Matt Lowton.

As a result, Redknapp and Sinclair didn’t think the Chelsea youngster dived.

“It’s so difficult. When I watched, I’m looking has he been tripped? Has someone stood on his foot?” Redknapp told Sky Sports after the game.

“You tend to forget there could be a push, Matt Lowton just goes into his back and there is a little push, he takes the fall.

“Is it enough to go down like that? Possible not but there is definitely contact. You can’t say there isn’t any contact, his hands definitely go into his back.

“The problem with VAR is everyone goes and we’re going to get the answer now and it will definitive. It’s still only a matter of opinion. It’s one person’s feeling over another, it’s not a matter of fact, is it over the line or not? It’s just a matter of opinion so you’re not always going to get it right.

“There is not a lot of contact but I have seen them given for a lot less contact given than that.”

Sinclair added: “They certainly do, you can see what Callum is complaining at.

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

“For me, I still think he’s waiting for a foot to be stuck out and he’ll trip over that. The foot doesn’t come out so he ends up going over fresh air really. That’s why VAR changes it.

“I think if the referee gives it the penalty then you stick with it because the bar has been set so high.

“I suppose from a Burnley perspective if it goes against you, you’re thinking ‘that’s a very cheap penalty’ but at the same time you can see where Callum Hudson-Odoi is complaining about a push.”

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

Christian Pulisic scored his left foot, right foot and then his head to complete a perfect hat trick

SHARE THIS ARTICLE :

Dhruv George

11629 articles

Dhruv George is a senior Formula One and NASCAR analyst for EssentiallySports, having authored nearly 12000 articles spanning different sports like F1, NASCAR, Tennis, NFL, and eSports. He graduated with a PG Diploma in Journalism from the Xavier Institute of Communications. Dhruv has also conducted interviews with F1 driver Pierre Gasly and Moto2 rider Tony Arbolino.

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT