‘That’s FU***NG Ridiculous!’ – American WTA Star Gets Into a War of Words With Chair Umpire at the Australian Open

Published 01/20/2023, 8:50 AM EST

Australian Open 2023 is up and running. While the action packet event is at its full flow, the tournament is incomplete without controversies. After Andy Murray showed his disappointment for late-night matches, another controversy happened in the doubles leg.

However, this time around, it was an argument between the tennis player and the umpire. It happened in the first-round doubles leg match of Alison Riske Amritraj and Linda Fruhvirtova against Natela Dzalamidze and Alexandra Panova. Here’s what happened.

Alison Riske Amritraj lashes out at umpire for a controversial decision

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

It happened in the second set of the match. The pair of Amritraj and Fruhvirtova and Amritraj lost the first set and were playing the all-important second set. Meanwhile, a shot from Amritraj hit her opponent on the body. Later, Amritraj apologized, saying ‘Sorry.’

As per the rule for hindrance, a player saying something when the ball is still at play is considered an offense. Hence, the Umpire awarded the point to their opponents. The American got furious as she argued with the umpire that she said sorry after finishing the point. Although she was correct, as the replays suggested. However, the umpire didn’t change the decision.

DIVE DEEPER

‘You See My B***’- American Tennis Star Alison Riske Has an Awkward Moment With Presenter Prakash Amritraj

10 months ago

“What the hell is he doing up there then? That’s f***ing ridiculous. No, no, that’s ridiculous. Is he sleeping? Dude. I wouldn’t say sorry [before the point is complete]. It hit her so I said sorry. So it’s my point. That makes no sense. Dude. Oh, the way you see it? The way you see it? I’m sure you see it that way,” Amritraj argued as per Express.co.uk.

She further added, “That’s ridiculous. That’s absolutely ridiculous. Pay attention. Dude, that’s tennis 101.”

It will be interesting to see if the American gets penalized for her actions.

The Djokovic toilet break controversy

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

One more controversy that made headlines in the ongoing Australian Open is the Novak Djokovic toilet break controversy. However, in this case, it was hype created by the media as neither Djokovic nor Umpire said anything about it earlier.

It happened in Djokovic’s first-round match, where the Serb rushed for a toilet break after asking the chair umpire. However, in the video that went viral on the internet, it seemed like the umpire didn’t allow it.

Watch this story-Will Smith Shows How King Richard Cast Trained Like Serena and Venus Williams

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

Later Djokovic returned and didn’t get any penalty for it. The clip went viral on the internet and fans started calling Djokovic out for getting away with breaking the rules. However, Djokovic later came up with an explanation that he did take the permission and slammed Eurosport for reporting the news without getting the complete and correct information. As the Australian Open goes on, it will be interesting to see how many more such controversies will follow.

 

SHARE THIS ARTICLE :

ADVERTISEMENT

Gaurav Verma

1047 articles

Gaurav Verma is a Tennis Author at EssentiallySports. He has post graduate diploma in management from IILM Graduate School of Management and a BBA degree from Bangalore University. He has 1-year of experience in the banking sector.

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT

EDITORS' PICK