fbpx
Now Reading
Costa avoids disciplinary action over tangle with Skrtel

Costa avoids disciplinary action over tangle with Skrtel

Chelsea v Liverpool - Barclays Premier League

LONDON (Reuters) – Chelsea striker Diego Costa has avoided disciplinary action after appearing to kick out at Liverpool’s Martin Skrtel in Saturday’s 3-1 defeat, according to English Football Association sources.

Referee Mark Clattenburg is understood to have seen the incident and opted against issuing a caution, meaning there can be no retrospective sanction by the authorities.

The two players had fallen to the ground after a challenge by Spanish international Costa.

“I think it is a clear red card,” former World Cup final referee Howard Webb said on television at the time.

See Also
Wayne Rooney

“He commits a foul on Martin Skrtel, then there is a little kick. The second action is a clear act of violent conduct. Diego Costa is a lucky boy on that occasion.”

(Reporting by Steve Tongue; Editing by John O’Brien)

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top