The Chelsea football team is an English professional team which competes in the Premier League. It was first founded in 1905 and is based in Fulham City. It's one of the most successful clubs in English football history.

"The Blues", as they're commonly regarded by their fans, were first founded by Gus Mears. And they won their first major trophy back in 1955. However, their most successful period has taken place under the ownership of Roman Abramovich.

He took over Chelsea FC in 2003 and has since brought a plethora of trophies to the Stamford Bridge, their home stadium. In their history, Chelsea have won over thirty championships, including six league titles and five European trophies. Though five of the six league championships and three of the five European titles were won in the Abramovich Era.

Their most successful manager have been Jose Mourinho, who has won eight titles in his two stints at Stamford Bridge. Their current manager, Frank Lampard is regarded as their most legendary figure along with the likes of John Terry, Didier Drogba, David Webb, John Hollins, and Pat Nevin.


Article continues below this ad

In 2016, Chelsea was ranked as the seventh most valuable football club in the world £1.15 billion, by Forbes magazine. As of 2016, Chelsea are ranked eighth in the Deloitte Football Money League with annual commercial revenue of £322.59 million.


First Division/Premier League61954–55, 2004–05, 2005–06, 2009–10, 2014–15, 2016–17
Second Division21983–84, 1988–89
FA Cup81969–70, 1996–97, 1999–2000, 2006–07, 2008–09, 2009–10, 2011–12, 2017–18
League Cup51964–65, 1997–98, 2004–05, 2006–07, 2014–15
FA Community Shield41955, 2000, 2005, 2009
Full Members' Cup21985–86, 1989–90
UEFA Champions League12011–12
UEFA Europa League22012–13, 2018–19
UEFA Cup Winners' Cup21970–71, 1997–98
UEFA Super Cup11998

Club Personnel

Chelsea Ltd.

Owner: Roman Abramovich

Chairman: Bruce Buck


  • Eugene Tenenbaum

  • Guy Laurence

  • Marina Granovskaia

Executive Board

  • Chief Executive: Guy Laurence

  • Club Secretary: David Barnard

  • Chairman: Bruce Buck

  • Directors:
    • Eugene Tenenbaum

    • Marina Granovskaia

  • Football Club Board:
    • David Barnard

    • Bruce Buck

    • Marina Granovskaia

    • Guy Laurence

    • Eugene Tenenbaum

  • Life President
    • Lord Attenborough (1923–2014)


  • Peter Digby

  • Sir Peter Harrison

  • Joe Hemani

  • Anthony Reeves

  • Alan Spence


Article continues below this ad

Club Ambassadors

  • Carlo Cudicini

  • Tore André Flo

  • Paulo Ferreira

  • Eddie Newton
Squad numberPositionPlayer Name
1GoalkeeperKepa Arrizabalaga
2DefenderAntonio Rüdiger
3DefenderMarcos Alonso
4DefenderAndreas Christensen
7MidfielderN'Golo Kanté
8MidfielderRoss Barkley
9ForwardTammy Abraham
12MidfielderRuben Loftus-Cheek
13GoalkeeperWilly Caballero
15DefenderKurt Zouma
17MidfielderMateo Kovačić
18ForwardOlivier Giroud
19MidfielderMason Mount
20ForwardCallum Hudson-Odoi
22MidfielderChristian Pulisic
23ForwardMichy Batshuayi
24DefenderReece James
28DefenderCésar Azpilicueta
29DefenderFikayo Tomori
31GoalkeeperJamie Cumming
33DefenderEmerson Palmieri
 MidfielderMarco van Ginkel


Article continues below this ad