Canadian Grand Prix Schedule: When & Where to Watch the F1 Race, Timings, Live Stream & Weather

Published 06/19/2022, 7:59 AM EDT
Formula One F1 – Canadian Grand Prix – Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, Montreal, Canada – June 18, 2022 Red Bull’s Max Verstappen shakes hands with second placed Alpine’s Fernando Alonso after finishing in pole position Pool via REUTERS/Jim Watson

Canada is a track with a rich history and this weekend it’ll be in the spotlight as the Canadian Grand Prix takes center stage. Although not an F1 staple, this venue has always had its moments in the F1 circus. Yesterday’s wet qualifying session threw up some surprising results and we can expect this trend to continue during today’s race.

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad


Max Verstappen is on pole, followed by Fernando Alonso and Carlos Sainz. Notably, this is Alonso’s first front-row start since the 2012 season. Meanwhile, Ferrari will rely on Sainz to deliver as Leclerc is starting P19 because of a grid penalty following an engine overhaul.

The race in Montreal is set up to be an exciting one and you don’t want to miss this Grand Prix. So, when and where can you tune in to watch the 2022 Canadian Grand Prix? And most importantly, will rain play a part once again?

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

When and where to watch the Canadian Grand Prix?

Here are the timings of Canadian GP in different time zones:

Time-zonesTime
IST23:30
ET14:00
BST19:00
PT11:00
AEST04:00
GMT18:00
CEST20:00

Where to watch the Canadian GP?

CountriesTelecast/Stream
IndiaStar Sports / Hotstar
USAABC
AustraliaFox Sports
UKSky Sports
CanadaRDS
SingaporeSingtel/Starhub
NetherlandsViaplay
FranceCanal +
AfricaSupersport

Montreal witnessed heavy rains and thunder on Thursday. On Friday, however, the track was dry, but teams experienced some windy conditions on Saturday. This caused temperatures to drop rather quickly, which made the track damp.

WATCH THIS STORY: Inside Michael Schumacher’s Car Collection

Sunday’s race will be similar to Friday’s conditions with little to no chance of rain forecast. Hence, drivers will look to capitalize on dry conditions and secure valuable points. Although rain may not play a part, this Grand Prix has always proved to be an intriguing watch.

Will the Canadian GP spring a few surprises?

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

Max Verstappen carried his momentum from Baku as he secured another pole position. He will have to fight Fernando Alonso, whose Alpine has been quick throughout this week. With Sainz starting from third, the run down to turn 1 will be fascinating.

Jun 18, 2022; Montreal, Quebec, CAN; Alpine driver Fernando Alonso of Spain races in to the Senna turn during free practice sessions at circuit Gilles Villeneuve. Mandatory Credit: Eric Bolte-USA TODAY Sports

As Lewis Hamilton (P4) holds the record for the most wins at this venue, it will be foolish to write him off even though he has been struggling physically. Meanwhile, Leclerc, who starts from the back of the grid, will look to fight his way to the top.

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

DIVE DEEPER

Why Is Turn 14 of the F1 Canadian GP Called the Wall of Champions?

18 days ago

Only three drivers have won a race so far in 2022. Will we witness a 4th driver take the honors in Canada? Leave your predictions in the comments.

SHARE THIS ARTICLE :

ADVERTISEMENT

Rahul Madhavan

383 articles

Rahul Madhavan is a Formula 1 writer at EssentiallySports. After completing his Bachelor's degree in business administration, he is pursuing his love for sports in the form of writing. Rahul is an avid McLaren fan, who also enjoys writing about soccer.

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT