Force India Name Disappears From F1

December 1, 2018 1:14 pm

The Force India name will disappear from Formula 1 next year with the team being renamed Racing Point F1.

Following the takeover of the outfit by a consortium led by Lawrence Stroll, it retained its Force India moniker for its team and chassis.

However in the official 2019 F1 entry list that was published by the FIA on Friday night, it was confirmed the Silverstone-based squad would be fully rebranded.

It will bring an end to the Force India name which has been an ever present in F1 since former team boss Vijay Mallya took over the Spyker team at the end of the 2007 campaign.

Goodbye Force India

The entry list also confirmed the race numbers for F1’s rookies.

McLaren’s Lando Norris will race with #4, Williams’ George Russell will have #63 and Sauber’s Antonio Giovinazzi will run with #99.

F1 returnee Robert Kubica will race with #88 for Williams, while new Toro Rosso signing Alexander Albon has not yet been allocated a permanent number.

Norris, Kubica and Giovinazzi have all chosen numbers already used since F1 changed its system for 2014, with #4 formerly belonging to Max Chilton, #88 previously raced by Rio Haryanto, and #99 used by Adrian Sutil.

Aside from that, Ferrari and Haas are also undergoing a change in nomenclature. Ferrari will be known as Scuderia Ferrari Mission Winnow. Similarly, Haas will be known as Rich Energy Haas F1 team.

The outfit has had a great run in its decade-long Formula One career. The formerly Indian outfit has notched up 6 podiums in their 11 years in the sport. Their best finish till date remains 2nd, courtesy Giancarlo Fisichella at the 20009 Belgian GP. Also, in that very race, Fisichella had scored a shock pole position ahead of Jarno Trulli and Nick Heidfeld. While the race was ultimately won by Kimi Raikkonen and Ferrari, Fisichella took a fine second place.

The remaining five podiums have all come from Mexican driver Sergio Perez, all 3rd places. Then, for two years in a row, the team snatched 4th place in the constructor’s standings in 2016 and 2017.

Perez and Stroll will be teammates in 2019 in a brand new team
Disqus Comments Loading...