IPL 2019 Final: Was MS Dhoni Actually Out?

0
418
Chennai Super Kings
This moment changed everything for the Chennai Super Kings

This Sunday night is a huge night for sport in general, with the F1 Spanish GP, the final match week of the Premier League, the final of the Madrid Open, and now, the IPL 2019 final. Contesting in the final, are the Mumbai Indians and the Chennai Super Kings, both aiming for IPL number 4. However, a bit of controversy erupted, involving CSK skipper, MS Dhoni.

It is safe to say that umpire, Nigel Llong, is not having a good week at all and it is about to get worse. Earlier, Llong was involved in an argument with Royal Challengers Bangalore captain, Virat Kohli.

Kohli was unhappy with Llong’s decision to call a final-over no-ball off Umesh Yadav’s bowling. Replays suggested that the delivery was legal and Llong had a lengthy discussion with Virat Kohli and Umesh Yadav. After that particular match, Llong was so frustrated that he kicked a door.

Now, during the CSK vs MI final, Llong has been put under the spotlight once again. This time, the person who was opposing was CSK captain MS Dhoni. At the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad, MS Dhoni had been given run out at the hands of Ishan Kishan.

MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni

Llong declared Dhoni out, much to the dismay of the Chennai fans, and he was given his marching orders. The incident occurred in the 12th over when Hardik Pandya had the ball. Shane Watson was on strike and they completed one run. However, there was a misfield on Mumbai’s end and Dhoni and Watson promptly scampered back for a second run.

When third umpire was consulted (Llong), one angle showed Dhoni well inside the crease when the stump light lit up. However, another angle showed that he was just outside the safe zone.

It honestly looked too close to call but Llong was evidently convinced that MS Dhoni was out. In the end, MS Dhoni was sent back to the dugout for 2 runs.

MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni