Neymar Jr Not Among the FIFA Ballon d’Or’s 30-Man Nominee List

October 22, 2019 3:13 pm

The FIFA Ballon d’Or season is just around the corner and the nominees have been released. The usual suspects, Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo will be present and the favourites. However, they will be joined by Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk as one of the front-runners. Interestingly, one notable name was missing from the list, a certain Brazilian called Neymar.

When the long list of 30 candidates was announced on Monday in Paris the Brazil star’s name was missing from the nominations by a global voting panel of journalists. Another high-profile absentee was last year’s Ballon d’Or winner, Luka Modric.

Messi and Ronaldo’s 10-year death grip on the Ballon d’Or was broken by Real Madrid’s Modric last December.

Messi will undoubtedly have a leg up in the race, having won his sixth FIFA award last month. Meanwhile, Van Dijk would be the first defender topping the poll since Fabio Cannavaro in 2006.

Neymar is not among the Ballon d’Or nominees

The Liverpool centre back will have company with Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane, Roberto Firmino, Alisson Becker, Trent Alexander Arnold and Georginio Wijnaldum.

Marc Andre ter Stegen, Hugo Lloris and Becker are the sole representatives among the goalkeepers. Joao Felix is also the youngest nominee among the lot. It is also worth noting that US star, Megan Rapinoe is one of the front-runners for the Ballon d’Or Feminin.

Here is the list in full:

  • Sergio Agüero (Manchester City)
  • Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)
  • Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal)
  • Alisson Becker (Liverpool)
  • Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Man City)
  • Frenkie de Jong (Ajax/Barcelona)
  • Matthijs de Ligt (Ajax/Juventus)
  • João Félix (Benfica/Atlético Madrid)
  • Roberto Firmino (Liverpool)
  • Antoine Griezmann (Atlético Madrid/Barcelona)
  • Eden Hazard (Chelsea/Real Madrid)
  • Kalidou Koulibaly (Napoli)
  • Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)
  • Hugo Lloris (Tottenham)
  • Riyad Mahrez (Man City)
  • Sadio Mané (Liverpool)
  • Marquinhos (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Kylian Mbappé (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus)
  • Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
  • Bernardo Silva (Man City)
  • Heung-min Son (Tottenham)
  • Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)
  • Dusan Tadic (Ajax/Serbia)
  • Marc-André ter Stegen (Barcelona)
  • Donny van de Beek (Ajax)
  • Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)
  • Georginio Wijnaldum (Liverpool)
Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Alisson Becker and Virgil van Dijk during the UEFA Champions League draw ceremony
Dhruv George

Dhruv George is an author for the Formula One and NASCAR division of EssentiallySports. He is a life-long F1 and MotoGP fan, developing a liking for McLaren and Carlos Sainz Jr, and recently began to follow NASCAR. He graduated from Xavier Institute of Communications, Mumbai, with a PG Diploma in Journalism and now lives in Trivandrum.

Disqus Comments Loading...