Australian Grand Prix

The Australian Grand Prix was supposed to kick off the 2020 Formula One Season. However, as we now know, the race down under was called off before it could really take off. The Pandemic meant  a delayed start to the F1 season, with Albert Park unfortunately missing out on the 2020 calendar.

Lewis Hamilton heads into the new season as a six-time world champion.

The Albert Park Circuit was first used back in 1953, and Doug Whiteford took the win. However, it was a non-championship race, and the Australian Grand Prix was not integrated until 1985 in Adelaide. Williams driver Keke Rosberg became the first Australian Grand Prix winner in the F1 championship.

The first F1 championship winner at Albert Park was Damon Hill in 1996, again for Williams F1. Since then, Formula One has been a regular visitor in Melbourne. It is also worth mentioning that the Albert Park circuit has been the season-opening race, 21 times out of 24 races.

Most Winners

Name Nationality Year
Michael Schumacher Germany 2000, 2001, 2002, 2004
Alain Prost France 1982, 1986, 1988
Jenson Button United Kingdom 2009, 2010, 2012
Sebastian Vettel Germany 2011, 2017, 2018
Gerhard Berger Austria 1987, 1992
Ayrton Senna Brazil 1991, 1993
Damon Hill United Kingdom 1995, 1996
David Coulthard United Kingdom 1997, 2003
Kimi Raikkonen Finland 2007, 2013
Lewis Hamilton United Kingdom 2008, 2015
Nico Rosberg Germany 2014, 2016

Most Constructor’s Winners

Constructor Year
Ferrari 1987, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2007, 2017, 2018
McLaren 1986, 1988, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1997, 1998, 2003, 2008, 2010, 2012
Williams 1985, 1989, 1994, 1995, 1996
Mercedes 2014, 2015, 2016, 2019
Renault 2005, 2006

Australian Grand Prix  Circuit Details 

The circuit implements parts of the public roads surrounding the Albert Park Lake. The road sections were rebuilt ahead of the 1996 race to ensure consistency and smoothness. This is where the Albert Park circuit differs from other street-going circuits.

The track itself appears fast and relatively easy to drive. The drivers even praised the circuit for being easy to learn and achieve competitive times. However, the flat terrain around the lake, coupled with a track design that features few true straights, means that the track is not conducive to overtaking.

Each year, most of the motorsport infrastructure is constructed two months ahead to the Grand Prix weekend. Following that, they are removed within 6 weeks.

Land around the circuit has restricted access during that entire period. However, there usually is some amount of dissent from local residents. Nevertheless, the event is reasonably popular in Melbourne and Australia.

Where to watch the Australian Grand Prix 

Sadly, there won’t be an Australian Grand Prix this season due to aforementioned reasons.

Australian Grand Prix  Tickets

Tickets are mostly available on the official Formula One website.

Session Day Time
FP1 Friday, 13 March 6:30-8:00
FP2 Friday, 13 March 10:30-12:00
FP3 Saturday, 14 March 8:30-9:30
Qualifying Saturday, 14 March 11:30-12:30
Race Sunday, 15 March 10:40-12:40