British Grand Prix

British Grand Prix- Winners, Qualifying, Circuits, Track

The British Grand Prix is one of the oldest racing events that is registered in the F1 calendar. It has taken place every year since 1950, without fail. England was home to all British Grands Prix in the 1920s. Later, the doors of the circuit were closed for F1 events permanently.

The British Grand Prix hopped from one circuit to another over the period of its existence in the F1 calendar. Its inception was at the Brooklands and raced in 1926 and 1927, which shifted to Silverstone in 1948 and continued till 1954.

Circuits of Aintree and Silverstone hosted the British Grand Prix, in the years between 1955 to 1962 alternatively. From 1963 to 1986, the race was hosted in Brands Hatch and Silverstone.

It made its permanent home at the Silverstone circuit in 1987 and produces enthralling races every year.

The British Grand Prix had entered the arena of the World Manufacturers’ Championship in 1926 and 1927 consecutively. The British Grand Prix has received the honor of the European Championship 5 times from 1950 to 1977.

Most Winners

Lewis Hamilton British 2008, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2020
Jim Clark British 1962, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1967
Alain Prost French 1983, 1985, 1989, 1990, 1993
Nigel Mansell British 1986, 1987, 1991, 1992
Jack Brabham Australian 1959, 1960, 1966
Niki Lauda Austrian 1976, 1982, 1984
Michael Schumacher German 1998, 2002, 2004
Jose Feoilan Gonzalez Argentine 1951, 1954
Alberto Ascari Italian 1952, 1953
Stirling Moss British 1955, 1957
Jackie Stewart British 1969, 1971
Emerson Fittipaldi Brazilian 1972, 1975
Jacques Villeneuve Canadian 1996, 1997
David Coulthard British 1999, 2000
Fernando Alonso Spanish 2006, 2011
Sebastian Vettel German 2009, 2018
Mark Webber Australian 2010, 2012

Most Constructor Winners

Ferrari 1951, 1952, 1953, 1954, 1958, 1961, 1976, 1978, 1990, 1998, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2007, 2011, 2018
McLaren 1973, 1975, 1977, 1981, 1982, 1984, 1985, 1988, 1989, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2005, 2008
Williams 1979, 1980, 1986, 1987, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997
Lotus 1962, 1963, 1954, 1965, 1967, 1968, 1970, 1972
Mercedes 1955, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2020
Red Bull 2009, 2010, 2012
Delage 1926, 1927
Maserati 1948, 1949
Cooper 1959, 1960
Tyrrell 1971, 1974
Renault 1983, 2006

Circuit Details

The Silverstone circuit hosted the maiden British Grand Prix in 1948. The circuit with FIA Grade 1 has hosted different genres of motorsports.

The authorities have remodeled and refurbished the circuit from time to time to keep the circuit up to date with the best features. These features assured an adventurous, challenging, and safe race for the spectators and the motorists.

The circuit at present measures 5.891-kilometers with 18 turns. It comprises 52 laps and runs a distance of 306. 198- kilometers. Max Verstappen holds the record for the fastest lap of 1:27.097 in this season for Red Bull Racing- Honda.

Where to Watch

In Asia, Australia, and Latin America, the practice sessions, qualifying, and the race will stream on FOX Sports Channel. People from the Indian subcontinent can enjoy the race STAR Sports. In Africa, SuperSport will broadcast it.

Belgium has RTBF and Telenet for the entire highlights and the streaming of the race. Brazilians would need to watch it on TV Globo and SporTV while Bulgaria can view it on Nova and Diema Sport.

RDS and TSN will broadcast the entire course of the race for Canada. However, for the Czech Republic and Slovakia Sport 1, Sport2, Sport 5 will take charge of the broadcast. China will stream the race on CCTV, Tencent, Guangdong TV, and Shanghai TV.

Denmark will have TV3+, TV3 Sport, and ViaSat while Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania will have TBC for broadcast.

Finland will telecast the race on MTV and France will do so on TF1 and Canal+. Germany, Austria, and Switzerland will have RTL Germany for their people to enjoy the race. Greece will stream it on ERT and Cosmote TV.

Hungary will broadcast the entire weekend on M4. Israel will have the broadcast on The Sports Channel while the Italians will witness it on Sky Italia and TV8.

Japan will watch it on Fuji Television, Network Inc., and Dazn. TUDN Mexico will telecast the race for Mexico while Montenegro will view it on SportKlub.

The Netherlands will broadcast it on Ziggo, New Zealand will do so on Spark sport. Eleven Sport will telecast the entire event for Poland and Portugal.  Russia will watch it on Match TV.

Spain and Andorra have Movistar. Turkey will stream it on S Sport. The United Kingdom will broadcast the entire event on C4 and Sky Sports, while ESPN will telecast the entire course for the USA.


The entire weekend hosted this season on August 2, 2020, permitted no spectators except the crew members.

The tickets for the next season will most likely be available on the official F1 website.

British Grand Prix at a Glance





Lewis Hamilton (1:24.303)

3. C. Leclerc (+18.474)

2. M. Verstappen (+5.856)

1. Lewis Hamilton (1:28:01.283)

MOST WINNERS Lewis Hamilton





WHERE TO WATCH Silverstone Circuit