ATP Cup is an international tennis tournament where the elite men of tennis will represent their nation. The demise of the Hopman Cup of tennis gave birth to ATP Cup and in January 2020 the event was held for the very first time. It was played on hard courts.

Prior to the Australian Open tennis tournament, the ATP Cup takes place for ten days in three different Australian cities. 24 nations get on board and two ATP players represent each team.

From 1978 to 2012, the ATP World Team Cup was held in Dusseldorf, Germany and ATP Cup is certainly the return of the old tournament.

ATP Cup Format

The tournament has 24 teams into six groups and each group has four teams. Each group competes amongst themselves. Two singles matches and one doubles match are conducted for each team in each round.

The match between the No. 2 of each team will open the tie, then the No.1 of each team and the doubles match closing the tie. The doubles match will be played regardless of whether the tie is decided or not.

The best two teams from each group will move into the quarterfinals of the tournament, later, regular knock-out rounds will be carried until the champions are decided.

ATP Cup 2020 Schedule

The 2020 event took place from 3rd to 12th January, in Sydney, Brisbane, and Perth. From 2020 to 2022, the finals of the tournament will take place in Sydney, Australia.

ATP Cup 2020 Teams

1) Serbia – Novak Djokovic and Dusan Lajovic

2) Spain – Rafael Nadal and Roberto Bautista Agut

3) Bulgaria – Grigor Dimitrov and Dimitar Kuzmanov

4) Russia – Daniil Medvedev and Karen Khachanov

5) Austria – Dominic Thiem and Dennis Novak

6) Germany – Alexander Zverev and Jan-Lennard Struff

7) Greece – Stefanos Tsitsipas and Michail Pervolarakis

8) Japan – Kei Nishikori and Yoshihito Nishioka

9) Italy – Fabio Fognini and Matteo Berrettini

10) France – Gael Monfils and Benoit Paire

11) Belgium – David Goffin and Steve Darcis

12) Croatia – Borna Coric and Marin Cilic

13) Argentina – Diego Schwartzman and Guido Pella

14) Georgia – Nikoloz Basilashvili and Aleksandre Metreveli

15) South Africa – Kevin Anderson and Lloyd Harris

16) USA – John Isner and Taylor Fritz

17) Canada – Felix Auger-Aliassime and Milos Raonic

18) Great Britain – Andy Murray and Kyle Edmund

19) Australia – Nick Kyrgios and Alex De Minaur (Wildcard)

20) Chile – Cristian Garin and Nicolas Jarry

21) Poland – Hubert Hurkacz and Kamil Majchrzak

22) Uruguay – Pablo Cuevas and Martin Cuevas

23) Moldova – Radu Albot and Alexander Cozbinov

24) Norway – Casper Ruud and Viktor Durasovic

ATP Cup 2020 winners

The 2020 edition was won by Serbia after they defeated Spain 2-1 in the final. Novak Djokovic defeated his long-term rival, Rafael Nadal, in the second singles match. Djokovic then combined with Viktor Troicki in the men’s doubles final to help Serbia lift the title.

The eight teams that advanced through to the quarter-finals were – Serbia, Canada, Argentina, Russia, Great Britain, Australia, Spain, and Belgium.

The four semi-finalists were Serbia, Russia, Australia, and Spain. Home team Australia had an inspired run before the Nadal-led Spanish team defeated them in the semi-final.

Prize money for the event

The total prize money for the 2020 event was $15,000,000.

ATP Cup 2021 plans

There is still no confirmation about the ATP Cup in 2021 due to the coronavirus pandemic. However, there is a good possibility of the event happening. The Australian Open organizers showed confidence in hosting the opening Grand Slam of 2021.

The ATP Cup is held in three other cities, and not Melbourne. The ATP will soon confirm their plans for the ATP Cup 2021 as the 2020 season draws to a close.