F1 Driver Lando Norris Can’t Figure Out FE’s Points Systems, Trolls Himself

January 20, 2020 7:46 pm

On Saturday, 18th January, the Formula E Prix concluded with BMW Andretti’s Maximilian Guenther winning the race. Though, it was former McLaren driver, Stoffel Vandoorne, who walked away happy. The Mercedes Formula E driver ended the weekend as the championship leader. However Vandoorne’s leap to the top, befuddled his McLaren F1 successor, Lando Norris.

Further adding to the confusion, was the fact that the Belgian had not won any of the three races contested so far. Admittedly, the ex-McLaren driver had two consecutive podiums, something that Norris completely forgot about.

He also forgot that the opening round in Ad-Diriyah was a double-header. Given that Vandoorne was 3rd in those two races, and 6th in Santiago, he managed to accrue enough points to lead the championship. Also considering that the championship leader, Alexander Sims, retired from Santiago, and the other contenders were well down the order, things fell into place for Stoffel.

The points distribution is largely similar to the F1 model, with the winner earning 25 points, right down to one point for 10th. However, five bonus points are also up for grabs, including one for the fastest lap, one for topping the group stage in qualifying, and three for pole position.

The ex-McLaren driver then clarified the whole situation and told Lando Norris about his double podium and 6th place. Finally, Norris saw the light and felt sheepish afterwards, for forgetting the double-header.

Lando Norris the troll

The McLaren youngster is well-known for his trolling and he has often unleashed it upon fellow drivers. His primary target is always his teammate, Carlos Sainz Jr., who responds in kind. However, for the first time, Norris’ trolling backfired, and it was spectacular.

What is the key to winning the Formula E title?

Given that the all-electric sport is notorious for its unpredictability, consistency will be the key in the 2019-2020 season. In last season’s championship, there were 9 different winners in the 13-round season. Only three drivers won multiple races, namely Sebastian Buemi, Robin Frijns and eventual champion, Jean-Eric Vergne.

Dhruv George

Dhruv George is a senior Formula One and NASCAR analyst for EssentiallySports, having authored nearly 12000 articles spanning different sports like F1, NASCAR, Tennis, NFL, and eSports. He graduated with a PG Diploma in Journalism from the Xavier Institute of Communications. Dhruv has also conducted interviews with F1 driver Pierre Gasly and Moto2 rider Tony Arbolino. He has been an ardent follower of motorsports sport since 2001, holding Carlos Sainz Jr. and McLaren in high regard.

Disqus Comments Loading...