Share this article

NASCAR All-Star Race


What Americans are reading

via Getty

NASCAR All-Star Race - Standings, Schedule, Results

The NASCAR All-Star Race is a yearly NASCAR Cup Series show race between race victors from the past season and past NASCAR Cup Series champions who endeavored to run the whole season in the previous year.

There are two different approaches to get qualified to race - winning one of the three phases in the NASCAR Open or by winning the fan vote.

It was once known as The Winston from 1985 to 2003, the Nextel All-Star Challenge from 2004 to 2007, the Sprint All-Star Race from 2008 to 2016, and the Monster Energy NASCAR All-Star Race from 2017 to 2019.

Who qualifies for the All-Star Race?

The All-Star Race comprises 2019 and 2020 race victors just as All-Star champs and current full-time Cup champions.

In addition to these racers, the All-Star race consists of the victor of each phase of the All-Star Open race just as the winner of the All-Star Fan Vote.

Does NASCAR All-Star Race count

The NASCAR All-Star Race is an official NASCAR race. However, it doesn't carry any points and is not counted as a race win in the season for the race victor.

Who won the 2020 NASCAR All-Star Race?

The race was held on July 15, 2020, at Bristol Motor Speedway in Bristol, Tennessee. Contested over 140 laps, it was the second exhibition race of the 2020 NASCAR Cup Series season.

It was the first All-Star Race since the 1986 Winston at Atlanta Motor Speedway to be hosted outside Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Chase Elliott earned his first NASCAR All-Star Race win at Bristol Motor Speedway, holding off reigning NASCAR Cup Series champion Kyle Busch in the closing laps. Elliott led 60 of the 140 laps en route to the $1 million paycheck.

He and his father, Bill Elliott, have joined the father-son combination of Dale Earnhardt and Dale Earnhardt Jr. to have won the sport?s midseason All-Star exhibition.

Interestingly, Bill won the race when it was held in Atlanta, and Chase?s victory was in Bristol, Tennessee, those are the only two times the event took place at a track other than Charlotte Motor Speedway.

The 2021 All-Star Race will be on June 14 at the Texas Motor Speedway.

VenueTexas Motor Speedway (2021?)

Bristol Motor Speedway (2020)

Charlotte Motor Speedway (1985, 1987?2019) Atlanta Motor Speedway (1986)

LocationFort Worth, Texas, United States (2021?) Bristol, Tennessee, United States (2020) Concord, North Carolina, United States (1985, 1987?2019)

Hampton, Georgia, United States (1986)

First Race1985
Previous NamesTBA
Most Wins (Driver)Jimmie Johnson ? 4
Most Wins (Team)Hendrick Motorsports ? 9
Where to watchFS1
Prize Money$1 Million