Canadian Grand Prix

Canadian Grand Prix-Winners, Qualifying, Circuits, Track

The most renowned Grand Prix in the F1 calendar first witnessed the Canadian ground in 1967. The inception of the event as a part of the F1 World Championship started in the circuit of Ontario. It moved to Mont-Tremblant, the circuit in Quebec for the weekend of 1968 and 1970.

In the hopes of preserving the safety of every driver, in 1978, the authorities and the organizers held the Canadian Grand Prix at the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve.

An entire decade later, F1 found a permanent home for their event. Originally recognized as the Ile Notre-Dame Circuit, it was later known as the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve following the surprising death of Villeneuve in 1982.

The Canadian Grand Prix has always kept the stir of excitement in the air throughout its existence in the F1 world. The F1 weekend was at a halt in 2009 until the renewal of the contract in 2010. The tenure of the new contract stretched across five F1 seasons, till 2014.

The race for this season, fixed in mid-June, was checked out of the F1 calendar for the ongoing virus situation.

Most Winners

Michael Schumacher German 1994, 1997, 1998, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2004
Lewis Hamilton British 2007, 2010, 2012, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2019
Nelson Piquet Brazilian 1982, 1984, 1991
Jacky Ickx Belgian 1969, 1970
Jackie Stewart British 1971, 1972
Alan Jones Australian 1979, 1980
Ayrton Senna Brazilian 1988, 1990
Sebastian Vettel German 2013, 2018

Most Constructors Winners

Ferrari 1970, 1978, 1983, 1985, 1995, 1997, 1998, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2018
McLaren 1968, 1973, 1974, 1976, 1988, 1990, 1992, 1999, 2005, 2007, 2010, 2011, 2012
Williams 1979, 1980, 1986, 1989, 1993, 1996, 2001
Brabham 1967, 1969, 1982, 1984
Mercedes 2015, 2016, 2017, 2019
Tyrrell 1971, 1972
Benetton 1991, 1994
Red Bull 2013, 2014

Circuit Details

The circuit in Montreal, Canada, with FIA Grade 1, has hosted various genres of motorsports.

Earlier known as the Ile Notre-Dame Circuit, the track has observed the longest race in the entire history of the F1 World Championships in 2011.

The track measures 4.361-kilometers with 14 turns, at present. It has 70 laps and a racing distance of 305.270- kilometers.

The track has recorded innumerable dramatic races, like the races of 1981, 1982, 1987, 1999, 2005, 2011, and 2013.

The circuit has experienced continuous modifications since its emergence in the F1 calendar, to make the race thrilling and impossible for the viewers to miss.

Turns 1 and 2 referred to as Senna ‘S’ turns are an extensively tricky path to cross until Turns 8-10 arrive.

Turn 8, known as Droit du Casino corner, is a quick and sharp corner that is led from a quick underpass to get the pace forwarded to Turn 9. From Turn 9 the grid is directed to the neatest 180° Hairpin Curve at Turn 10.

Turns 12 to 14 are the most complicated and challenging ones, also known as the Wall of Champions.

Where to watch

In Asia, Australia, and Latin America, the practice sessions, qualifying, and the race stream on the FOX Sports Channel. People from the Indian subcontinent can enjoy the race on STAR Sports. In Africa, SuperSport boasts of the rights to broadcast it.

Belgium has RTBF and Telenet for the entire highlights and the streaming of the race. Brazilians would need to watch it on TV Globo and SporTV while Bulgarians can view it on Nova and Diema Sport.

RDS and TSN broadcast the entire course of the race for Canada. However, for the Czech Republic and Slovakia Sport 1, Sport2, Sport 5 take charge of the broadcast. China streams the race on CCTV, Tencent, Guangdong TV, and Shanghai TV.

Denmark has TV3+, TV3 Sport, and ViaSat while Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania have TBC for broadcast.

Finland broadcasts the race on MTV and France on TF1 and Canal+. Germany, Austria, and Switzerland have RTL Germany for their people to enjoy the race. Greece streams it on ERT and Cosmote TV.

Hungary broadcasts the entire weekend on M4 and the Italians on Sky Italia and TV8.

Japan watches it on Fuji Television, Network Inc., and Dazn. TUDN Mexico telecasts the race for Mexico while Montenegro views it on SportKlub.

The Netherlands broadcast it on Ziggo, New Zealand on Spark sport. Eleven Sport telecasts the entire event for Poland and Portugal. And Russia watches it on Match TV.

The United Kingdom watches it all go down on C4 and Sky Sports, while ESPN telecasts the entire course for the USA.

The F1 YouTube channel broadcasts the virtual race.


Tickets are mostly available on the official F1 website.