Share this article

Chinese Grand Prix


What Americans are reading

Chinese Grand Prix - Winners, Qualifying, Circuits, Track

The Chinese Grand Prix has been a constant host of F1 races since 2004. It had earned itself the reputation for being the most expensive circuit until 2009, when the Abu Dhabi Circuit came into existence.

The Shanghai International Circuit, designed by the Tilke Company, ranks among the most adventurous and challenging circuits in the world. The pattern of the circuit is the first letter from 'Shanghai,' which translates to 'ascend'.

The concept of bringing Chinese soil to F1 racing ground started in the 1990s. The first track, the Zhuhai International Circuit, was not appropriate for staging a Grand Prix, as marked by the FIA. But the country?s government was determined to host the Chinese Grand Prix.

In 2004, they announced the Shanghai International Circuit to be the track for all upcoming races.

The COVID-19 situation has, however, affected the calendar which led to the cancellation of this season?s race. There is major planning underway to get back to the sport next season.

Most Winners

Lewis HamiltonBritish2008, 2011,

2014, 2015,

2017, 2019

Fernando AlonsoSpanish2005, 2013
Nico RosbergGerman-Finnish2012, 2016

Most Constructors Winners

Mercedes2012, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2019
Ferrari2004, 2006,

2007, 2013

McLaren2008, 2010,


Red Bull2009, 2018

Circuit Details

The Circuit of Shanghai is famous for its layout, which makes the race extremely thrilling.

The track measures 5.451 kilometers and has 16 turns. The circuit provides 56 laps that are covered in the entire duration of the race, which covers 305.066 kilometers.

This circuit is much more complicated than the other F1 registered circuits that exist. The first four laps that form the "snails" are the most challenging part of the circuit.

The other laps are considerably less complicated, with proper tactics of racing. The racers are fond of lap 7 and 8, which have chicanes that allow smooth overtaking.

Lap 11 to 14 provides the next set of a complicated pattern that affects the pace of a racer. It includes sharp and testing chicanes and a lengthy right-hander that leads to extreme pressure on the racer to keep up with their proper performance.

The Shanghai International Circuit, which has achieved FIA Grade 1 promises to give an event packed with thrill and adventure, ensuring safety protocols don't take a backseat.

Where to Watch

To tune into the racing event in Asia, Australia, and Latin America, one must have access to Fox Sports. Africa can watch it on SuperSport while viewers from the Indian subcontinent will have access to it from the Star Sports network.

Belgium has RTBF and Telenet for the entire highlights and the streaming of the race. Brazilians can watch the race on TV Globo and SporTV while Bulgaria can view it on Nova and Diema Sport.

China will stream the race on CCTV, Tencent, Guangdong TV, and Shanghai TV. RDS and TSN will broadcast the entire course of the race for Canada. The Czech Republic and Slovakia can tune into Sport 1, Sport2, Sport 5 to catch the broadcast.

Denmark will have TV3+, TV3 Sport, and ViaSat while Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania will have TBC for the broadcast.

Finland will telecast the race on MTV and France will do so on TF1 and Canal+. Germany, Austria, and Switzerland will have RTL Germany for their people to enjoy the race. Greece will stream it on ERT and Cosmote TV. The Italians will witness it on Sky Italia and TV8.

Japan will watch it on Fuji Television, Network Inc., and Dazn. TUDN Mexico will telecast the race for Mexico while Montenegro can watch it on SportKlub.

The Netherlands will broadcast it on Ziggo, and New Zealand will do so on Spark sport. Eleven Sport will telecast the entire event for Poland and Portugal. Those in Russia can watch the race on Match TV.

Spain and Andorra have Movistar while Turkey will stream it on S Sport. The United Kingdom will broadcast the entire event on C4 and Sky Sports, while ESPN will telecast the race for the USA.

Chinese Grand Prix at a Glance





Valtteri Bottas (1:31.547)

3. Sebastian Vettel (+13.744)

2. Valtteri Bottas (+6.552)

1. Lewis Hamilton (1:32:06.350)

MOST WINNERSLewis Hamilton





WHERE TO WATCHShanghai International Circuit