McLaren F1 news and updates:

The Woking outfit is the second oldest F1 team, after Ferrari. Like their Italian rivals, they too are steeped in history. They first raced in Formula One in 1966, 16 years after Ferrari made their debut.

The British team have produced seven world champions during their tenure in Formula One. Like Ferrari, three of those champions have won multiple times. They are, Alain Prost, Ayrton Senna and Mika Hakkinen. Other champions are Emerson Fittipaldi, Niki Lauda, James Hunt and Lewis Hamilton.

In the latest McLaren F1 news, their current drivers for 2019 are Carlos Sainz Jr and McLaren young driver, Lando Norris.


On-track Achievements

In the team’s debut year, team founder and driver, Bruce McLaren scored points in the team’s third race and the championship’s fourth race. He ended up sixth in the team’s home race at Brands Hatch. He bagged the team’s maiden win, two years later at the Belgian Grand Prix.

The first constructor’s championship was claimed by Brazilian driver Emerson Fittipaldi, Denny Hulme, Mike Hailwood, David Hobbs and Jochen Mass in 1974. This was followed by Niki Lauda and Alain Prost winning in 1984 and 1985. In 1988 and 1989, it was the partnership of Prost and Ayrton Senna that brought the constructor’s championship home.

Then Senna and Gerhard Berger took the constructors title in 1990 and 1991. In 1998, it was David Coulthard and Mika Hakkinen’s turn to win. It would be the McLaren F1 team’s last constructor’s title.


McLaren’s Sponsors

The McLaren F1 team’s current sponsors include Chandon, Dell, Kimoa, Petrobras, Hilton, Richard Mille, Logitech, SAP, Pirelli, Kenwood, CNBC, Coca-Cola and OnePlus, among many others.


The Woking marquee has come out in support of BBC’s Children in Need charity. Other causes that they support are the Starlight Children’s Foundation, White Lodge Centre and Woking & Sam Beare Hospices.

Founded 1963
Owner Bruce McLaren
Number of Titles 8
Prize Money Won 61.7 million
Lando Norris

Lando Norris Trolls Marcus Ericsson During Classic F1 Online Race

McLaren driver Lando Norris raced in the #ChallengeLando race. However, the final race provided a…

Mclaren F1

Ex McLaren F1 Mechanic Talks About The Lewis Hamilton-Fernando Alonso Pit Lane Incident

Ex Mclaren F1 mechanic Marc Priestley, who is presently an F1 content creator on Youtube…

Carlos Sainz Jr Warns Lando Norris About the Potential for a Rivalry

Carlos Sainz and Lando Norris are extremely good friends away from the track. Even when…

Lewis Hamilton

F1 Throwback: When Dirty Driving by Michael Schumacher on Lewis Hamilton Forced the FIA to Change Rules

The 2011 season was a turning point for F1. The sport introduced newer regulations and…

Lewis Hamilton

F1 Throwback: When Lewis Hamilton and Felipe Massa Couldn’t Stop Crashing Into Each Other

From 2008 until 2011, McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton and Ferrari’s Felipe Massa shared a fierce rivalry.…


F1 Looking to Further Reduce the Budget Cap Due to Coronavirus Outbreak

The coronavirus pandemic is ravaging the entire world for months now. In light of this,…

F1 McLaren MCL35

F1 Introduces a Major Restriction on Teams in Order to Cut Costs for 2021

According to the latest reports, the 2021 regulations delay might be setting up teams for…

Carlos Sainz

Carlos Sainz Jr is the Latest to Bash Netflix for Exaggerating Rivalry With Daniel Ricciardo

Earlier, Kevin Magnussen confessed that the Netflix series, “Formula One: Drive to Survive” embellished a…

Stoffel Vandoorne

WATCH: Stoffel Vandoorne Jokes About Wanting to Go Back to McLaren

Stoffel Vandoorne raced in Formula One in 2018 for the McLaren team. Sadly, he was…


Mclaren F1 Responds to the UK Government’s Call for Help

After the UK government’s call for assistance, F1 announced that several teams were considering developing…

Lando Norris

Not the Bah GP Boasts of a Star-Studded Lineup, Including Lando Norris and Nicholas Latifi

Another weekend, another day without any racing on track. In an alternate universe, the Bahrain…

McLaren Announce Incredibly Positive News for 2021

Despite F1 delaying the 2021 regulations, McLaren will still be moving ahead with its Mercedes…


McLaren Formula One Provide an Update on Their Quarantined Members

Last week, McLaren got a huge scare when one of their employees tested positive for…

Former F1 Driver Insists that Fernando Alonso Was Innocent in the Spygate Saga

Recently, former McLaren test driver Pedro de la Rosa appeared in a Formula One podcast.…


Good News for McLaren as Infected Employee Makes a Full Recovery

After a difficult week, things are finally looking up for McLaren. In the buildup to…

Sebastian Vettel

McLaren Potentially Eyeing a Shock Move for Sebastian Vettel

The new 2021 technical regulations is a massive game changer. This could also have a…

Lando Norris

Lando Norris Opens Up on his Bromance with Carlos Sainz Jr

In 2019, McLaren fielded a brand new line-up of Lando Norris and Carlos Sainz Jr.…


Even in Quarantine, McLaren Stand By Each Other with an Incredible Gesture

In all honesty, quarantine can be boring if the infected victim is in isolation. There…


McLaren Pulls Out of Australian Grand Prix After Coronavirus Risk

Earlier, a few F1 team personnel underwent tests and quarantined. This is because, they showed…

Haas F1 team

Multiple F1 Team Members Under Quarantine After Showing Symptoms of Coronavirus

The fast-spreading Coronavirus has unfortunately made it into the F1 paddock. According to the latest…

Andreas Seidl

Mclaren F1 Team Principal Highlights a Major Flaw in 2021 Regulations

Mclaren team principal Andreas Seidl wants the FIA to clarify on the impact of the…

Red Bull

Red Bull F1 Not Pleased With Liberty Media’s Suggestion of Banning Motorhomes

With more emphasis on the environment, the FIA plan to go carbon neutral by 2030.…

“People Don’t Watch F1 Because of Mercedes’ Winning” – Lando Norris Voices Support Against “Boring” F1

Recently, McLaren driver Lando Norris spoke about his compatriot, Lewis Hamilton. The young British driver…

Mclaren F1

Lando Norris Left With Mixed Feelings After Driving Mclaren F1 2020 Car

Lando Norris accepts the MCL35 is an increasingly reliable vehicle to drive contrasted with its…

Lando Norris

“Lot of People Make Assumptions”: Lando Norris Believes that 2019 Didn’t Do Him Justice

McLaren driver Lando Norris had a fairly mediocre 2019 season, but a decent one for a rookie…

McLaren F1 Take a Subtle Dig at Racing Point over B-Grade Mercedes

Recently, the McLaren F1 team weighed in on the Racing Point copycat Mercedes saga. According…

“I Focus on McLaren” – Carlos Sainz Ready to Commit His Future to the Team

Last season at the Brazilian Grand Prix, Carlos Sainz Jr ended McLaren’s podium drought. After…

Carlos Sainz

Carlos Sainz Jr Unveils a Special Surprise for Fans in Barcelona

Back in 2018, Carlos Sainz launched his very own grandstand at the Circuit de Catalunya.…


Fernando Alonso Highlights What Went Wrong for Him and Team Last Year

Fernando Alonso will make his third attempt at the Indy 500 and his attempt to…

Lewis Hamilton

F1 Throwback: Lewis Hamilton Gives Fernando Alonso the Finger at a Press Conference

The 2007 Hungarian Grand Prix marked the beginning of a declining relationship between Lewis Hamilton…