French Grand Prix

French Grand Prix – Winners, Qualifying, Circuits, and Track

The sound of F1 supercars has reverberated on French soil since time immemorial. It has hosted innumerable races, some with great historic significance.

The weekend races of F1 hop around various circuits of France. The French Grand Prix, prior recognized as Grand Prix de I’ACF, marked its inception point in the 1970s at the Circuit Paul Ricard.

The circuit has hosted various genres of motorsports. It exists amongst the safest circuits in the world that feature as a testing ground, F1 being the major sport.

Under the current global pandemic, the French Grand Prix for this season will not take place. All F1 teams, as well as the fans, are excited to witness the weekend race the following year.

Most Winners

Michael Schumacher German 1994, 1995,

1997, 1998, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2006

Alain Prost French 1981, 1983, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1993
Louis Chiron Monacan 1931, 1934, 1937, 1947, 1949
Juan  Manuel Fangio Argentine 1950, 1951, 1954, 1957
Nigel Mansell British 1986, 1987, 1991, 1992
Jack Brabham Australian 1960, 1966, 1967
Jackie Stewart British 1969, 1971, 1972
Felice Nazzaro Italian 1907, 1922
Christian Lautenschlager German 1908,  1914
Georges Boillot French 1912, 1913
Guiseppe Campari Italian 1924, 1933
Robert Benoist French 1925, 1927
William Grover- Williams British 1928, 1929
Jean-Pierre Wimille French 1936, 1948
Mike Hawthorn British 1953, 1958
Dan Gurney American 1962, 1964
Jim Clark British 1963, 1965
Ronnie Peterson Swedish 1973, 1974
Niki Lauda Austrian 1975, 1984
Mario Andretti American 1977, 1978
Lewis Hamilton British 2018, 2019

Most Constructors Winners

Ferrari 1952, 1953, 1956, 1958, 1959, 1961, 1968, 1975, 1990, 1997, 1998, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008
Williams 1980, 1986, 1987, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1996, 2003
Mercedes 1908, 1914, 1935, 1938, 1954, 2018, 2019
Lotus 1963, 1965, 1970, 1973, 1974, 1977, 1978
Renault 1906, 1979, 1981, 1982, 1983, 2005
Alfa Romeo 1924, 1932, 1934, 1948, 1950, 1951
Bugatti 1926, 1928, 1929, 1930, 1931, 1936
McLaren 1976, 1984, 1988, 1989, 2000
Brabham 1964, 1966, 1967, 1985
Fiat 1907, 1922
Peugeot 1912, 1913
Delage 1935, 1927
Maserati 1933, 1957
Talbot- Lago 1947, 1949
Tyrrell 1971, 1972
Benetton 1994, 1995

French Grand Prix Circuit Details

The Circuit Paul Ricard, founded in 1969, conducted the debut race in 1971. F1 halted racing in the track from the 1990s and relaunched the circuit in the 2018 F1 calendar.

The track features a highlighted run-off area called the Blue Zone and the Red Zone to enhance the safety of racers. It also comprises the latest version of Tecpro barriers, specially constructed for tire protection of the cockpit.

The circuit measures 3.812 kilometers at present, with nine turns and 53 laps. Sebastian Vettel created the highest race lap record of 1:32.740 in 2019.

Where to watch

In Asia, Australia, and Latin America, the practice sessions, qualifying, and the race will stream on Fox Sports Channel. People from the Indian subcontinent can enjoy the race STAR Sports. In Africa, SuperSport will broadcast it.

Belgium has RTBF and Telenet for the entire highlights and the streaming of the race. Brazilians would need to watch it on TV Globo and SporTV while Bulgaria can view it on Nova and Diema Sport.

RDS and TSN will broadcast the entire course of the race for Canada. However, for the Czech Republic and Slovakia Sport 1, Sport2, Sport 5 will take charge of the broadcast. China will stream the race on CCTV, Tencent, Guangdong TV, and Shanghai TV.

Denmark will have TV3+, TV3 Sport, and ViaSat while Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania will have TBC for broadcast.

Finland will telecast the race on MTV and France will do so on TF1 and Canal+. Germany, Austria, and Switzerland will have RTL Germany for their people to enjoy the race. Greece will stream it on ERT and Cosmote TV.

Hungary will broadcast the entire weekend on M4. Israel will have the broadcast on The Sports Channel while the Italians will witness it on Sky Italia and TV8.

Japan will watch it on Fuji Television, Network Inc., and Dazn. TUDN Mexico will telecast the race for Mexico while Montenegro will view it on SportKlub.

The Netherlands will broadcast it on Ziggo, New Zealand will do so on Spark sport. Eleven Sport will telecast the entire event for Poland and Portugal.  Russia will watch it on Match TV.

Spain and Andorra have Movistar. Turkey will stream it on S Sport. The United Kingdom will broadcast the entire event on C4 and Sky Sports, while ESPN will telecast the entire course for the USA.


Tickets for the French Grand Prix will be mostly available on the official website of F1.

French Grand Prix at a Glance





Lewis Hamilton (1:28. 319)

3. Charles Leclerc (+18.985)

2. Valtteri Bottas (+18. 056)

1. Lewis Hamilton (1:24:31.198)






MOST WINNERS Michael Schumacher
WHERE TO WATCH Circuit Paul Ricard