Share this article

Styrian Grand Prix

via Reuters

Styrian Grand Prix- Winners, Qualifying, Circuits, Track

The Styrian Grand Prix is a Formula One race held at the Red Bull Ring. It is named after Styria, the area which the circuit is situated in. The first Styrian GP was held in 2020, as the second race of the COVID-hit Formula One World Championship.


Article continues below this ad

The COVID-19 pandemic in 2020 prompted disturbance to the race schedule, with various occasions dropped. The Styrian Grand Prix was added to the reconsidered schedule. It was held as a "one-off" race, similar to a few other new or returning Grand Prix weekends. This was done in order to compensate for races that had to be dropped. It was the second c race at consecutive race the Red Bull Ring after the 2020 Austrian Grand Prix.

Even though it was introduced as a one-off event, COVID restrictions forced the FIA to carry the Styrian GP into 2021 as well.

The 2020 Styrian GP was held from 25 to 27 July, just one week before the Austrian GP.

Red Bull's Max Verstappen emerged as the victor of what turned out to be quite an uneventful and straightforward race weekend. He took pole position and held on to the lead throughout the race, beating second-placed Lewis Hamilton with a gap of nearly 35 seconds.

Circuit Details

The race circuit was established as Österreichring. It facilitated the Austrian Grand Prix for 18 continuous years, from 1970 to 1987. It was subsequently abbreviated, revamped, and renamed as the A1-Ring. The Austrian Grand Prix was again held from 1997 to 2003 on the revamped track. When Formula One grew out of the circuit, an arrangement was attracted up to expand the format.

Portions of the circuit, including the pits and grandstand, were removed; however, development work was halted and the circuit stayed unusable for quite a long while. It was then bought by Red Bull's Dietrich Mateschitz and revamped. It was renamed as Red Bull Ring. The track returned on 15 May 2011.

via Reuters

Where to Watch

In Asia, Australia, and Latin America, the practice sessions, qualifying, and the race will stream on Fox Sports Channel. People from the Indian subcontinent can enjoy the race on STAR Sports. In Africa, SuperSport will broadcast it.

Belgium has RTBF and Telenet for the entire highlights and the streaming of the race. Brazilians would need to watch it on TV Globo and SporTV while Bulgaria can view it on Nova and Diema Sport.

RDS and TSN will broadcast the entire course of the race for Canada. However, for the Czech Republic and Slovakia, Sport 1, Sport2, Sport 5 will take charge of the broadcast. China will stream the race on CCTV, Tencent, Guangdong TV, and Shanghai TV.

Denmark will have TV3+, TV3 Sport, and ViaSat, while Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania will have TBC for broadcast.

Finland will telecast the race on MTV, and France will do so on TF1 and Canal+. Germany, Austria, and Switzerland will have RTL Germany for their people to enjoy the race. Greece will stream it on ERT and Cosmote TV.

Hungary will broadcast the entire weekend on M4. Israel will have the broadcast on the Sports Channel while the Italians will witness it on Sky Italia and TV8.


Article continues below this ad

Japan will watch it on Fuji Television, Network Inc., and Dazn. TUDN Mexico will telecast the race for Mexico, while Montenegro will view it on SportKlub.

The Netherlands will broadcast it on Ziggo, New Zealand will do so on Spark sport. Eleven Sport will telecast the entire event for Poland and Portugal.  Russia will watch it on Match TV.

Spain and Andorra have Movistar. Turkey will stream it on S Sport. The United Kingdom will broadcast the entire event on C4 and Sky Sports, while ESPN will telecast the entire course for the USA.


Article continues below this ad


Tickets are mostly available on the official F1 website.