Home Cricket Women's Cricket Kia Super League

Women's Cricket Kia Super League

The Women's Cricket Super League (WCSL), also known as the Kia Super League (KSL), is a Twenty20 cricket tournament which plays in England and Wales and operated by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB). Six franchise teams have been featured in the league where the players from across the globe take part. This is a kind of tournament which helps to bridge the gap between domestic cricket and international cricket.  

Women's Cricket Kia Super League History

In 2015, The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) planned for the Women's Cricket Super League. The ECB received 28 applications for the teams in the first stage of bidding, from where the six successful bids were announced on January 2016. However, after the ECB's announcement of 100-ball competition which will launch in 2020, including new city-based franchises with both men's and women's teams, Women's Cricket Super League is scheduled to be played its final season in 2019.

Women's Cricket Kia Super League Teams and Format

Six teams have been featured in the tournament, named Lancashire Thunder, Loughborough Lightning, Southern Vipers, Surrey Stars, Western Storms and Yorkshire Diamonds. All the teams will play ten games each where they face their opponents two times in the whole tournament.

 Women's Cricket Kia Super League Schedule




August 06

Lancashire Thunder vs Southern Vipers Aigburth, Liverpool
Loughborough Lightning vs Western Storm Haslegrave Ground, Loughborough
Yorkshire Diamonds vs Surrey Stars Headingley, Leeds

August 08

Loughborough Lightning vs Southern Vipers Haslegrave Ground, Loughborough
Surrey Stars vs Lancashire Thunder Woodbridge Road, Guildford

August 10

Western Storm vs Lancashire Thunder The Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton

August 11

Yorkshire Diamonds vs Loughborough Lightning Headingley, Leeds
Southern Vipers vs Western Storm The Rose Bowl, Southampton

August 12

Surrey Stars vs Southern Vipers Kennington Oval, London

August 13

Lancashire Thunder vs Yorkshire Diamonds Aigburth, Liverpool
Western Storm vs Loughborough Lightning County Ground, Bristol

August 15

Surrey Stars vs Loughborough Lightning Woodbridge Road, Guildford
Yorkshire Diamonds vs Western Storm TBC, TBC
Southern Vipers vs Lancashire Thunder County Ground, Hove

August 18

Loughborough Lightning vs Yorkshire Diamonds Haslegrave Ground, Loughborough
Southern Vipers vs Surrey Stars Arundel Castle, Arundel
Lancashire Thunder vs Western Storm TBC, TBC

August 20

Surrey Stars vs Yorkshire Diamonds Woodbridge Road, Guildford
Western Storm vs Southern Vipers County Ground, Bristol
Lancashire Thunder vs Loughborough Lightning Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester

August 21

Southern Vipers vs Yorkshire Diamonds The Rose Bowl, Southampton
Western Storm vs Surrey Stars The Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton

August 23

Yorkshire Diamonds vs Lancashire Thunder North Marine Road Ground, Scarborough
Loughborough Lightning vs Surrey Stars Haslegrave Ground, Loughborough

August 25

Loughborough Lightning vs Lancashire Thunder Trent Bridge, Nottingham
Yorkshire Diamonds vs Southern Vipers TBC, TBC
Surrey Stars vs Western Storm Woodbridge Road, Guildford

August 28

Lancashire Thunder vs Surrey Stars TBC, TBC
Western Storm vs Yorkshire Diamonds The Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton
Southern Vipers vs Loughborough Lightning The Rose Bowl, Southampton

September 01

TBC vs TBC, Semi-Final County Ground, Hove
TBC vs TBC, Final County Ground, Hove

Women's Cricket Kia Super League Previous Winners

Year Winner Runners-up Venue
2016 Southern Vipers Western Storm County Cricket Ground, Chelmsford
2017 Western Storm Southern Vipers County Cricket Ground, Hove
2018 Surrey Stars Loughborough Lightning County Cricket Ground, Hove