Indian Wells Masters

The Indian Wells Masters is also known as BNP Paribas Open and the WTA Indian Wells Open. It is the first ATP Masters 1000 event of the season and the first Premier Mandatory WTA event of the calendar. The Indian Wells Masters 2020 is the 47th edition of the men’s event and 32nd edition of the women’s event.

The tournament is played on hardcourt and is one of two tour events along with the Miami Open other than the Grand Slams, in which main draw play extends beyond eight days.  The Indian Wells Masters has the second-largest permanent tennis stadium in the world after the Arthur Ashe Stadium.


The women’s tournament was held a week before the ATP event at the start. However, in 1996, the championship became one of the few fully combined events on both the ATP and WTA tour.

The tournament grew to become one of the largest events on both the tennis calendar. In 2004, the tournament expanded to a multi-week 96 player field. Since then, Indian Wells Masters and Miami Open, have been colloquially known as the Sunshine Double. Also known as “Grand Slam of the West”, the BNP Paribas Open is the most-attended tennis tournament in the world outside the four Grand Slams. It recorded over 450,000 visitors during the 2015 edition.


The most successful players of the Indian Wells Masters have been Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic with 5 titles each. However, the Swiss maestro has reached 9 finals – most by any player. While Djokovic has recorded the highest winning percentage of 84.75%. The two have also claimed the most consecutive singles title in 2013, 2014 and 2015.

Current Prize Money US$9,035,428
Number of Entries (Main Draw) 128
Number of Entries (Qualifying) 12
Number of Seeds    32
Court Type Outdoor Hard