ATP World Tour Finals

The ATP Finals is the second-highest tier tournament on the ATP Tour after the four Grand Slam tournaments. The Nitto ATP Finals 2019 is the 50th edition of the final event of the ATP Tour. The ATP Finals take place in the second week and the third week of November.

The tournament was first held in 1970, although it was known under a different name. It was organized by the International Lawn Tennis Federation (ILTF). However, in 1990, the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP) took over. In 2009, the event was renamed as ATP World Tour Finals and since then it is being held at the O2 Arena in London.


The ATP Finals is not played in a knockout format. Eight players are divided into two groups of four and play three round-robin matches each against the other players in their group. The two players with the best records in each group progress to the semifinals, with the winners meeting in the final to determine the champion.

A player earns 200 points for each round-robin win with 400 points for semifinal victory and 500 points for winning the final. Hence, in total, a player can maximum bag 1500 points at ATP Finals. Furthermore, an undefeated champion can earn a maximum amount of $2,712,000 in singles or $517,000 in doubles.


Twenty-time Grand Slam champion Roger Federer holds the record for the most singles titles with six, while Peter Fleming and John McEnroe hold the record for the most doubles titles with seven titles.

Current Prize Money US$9,000,000
Number of Entries (Main Draw) 8
Number of Entries (Qualifying) 8
Number of Seeds      8
Court Type Indoor Hard