Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Formula One F1 - Abu Dhabi Grand Prix - Yas Marina Circuit, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates - Mercedes' Valtteri Bottas and Mercedes' Lewis Hamilton in action after the race Pool via REUTERS/Hamad I Mohammed

Abu Dhabi Grand Prix 2021 - Latest News, Winners, Qualifying, Circuits

The Abu Dhabi Grand Prix usually marks the final race of the Formula One Season. The race is traditionally held at the Yas Marina Circuit, as has been the case since 2009.

Since then, it has been a regular feature in the Formula One World Championship. Abu Dhabi has played host to a few championship showdowns in recent years. Most memorable races include the 2010, 2014, and 2016 races.


Article continues below this ad

Unfortunately, the nature of the Yas Marina Circuit makes for a rather dull race. With a tricky circuit layout, overtaking opportunities are few and far between.

Replacing Interlagos, Abu Dhabi has hosted the final F1 race of the season since the 2014 Championship season.

Lewis Hamilton won the 2019 Abu Dhabi GP, having wrapped up the World Championship with ease a few races prior to the event.

Max Verstappen won the 2020 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

Most Winners

Lewis HamiltonEngland2011, 2014, 2016, 2018, 2019
Sebastian VettelGermany2009,2010, 2013

Past Constructors Winners

Mercedes2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019
Red Bull2009, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2020

Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Circuit Details 

The 21-corner circuit is situated on Yas Island off the Abu Dhabi coast. The Hermann Tilke circuit passes by the marina and through the Yas Hotel.

During the inaugural race weekend, the reaction was fairly positive, with Nico Rosberg saying that every corner was 'unique'. Even Fernando Alonso confessed that it was enjoyable because there was always something to do.

However, just as there were praises, there were also plenty of critics. The main gripe was the pit exit, which dips under the main circuit via a tunnel. Although the pit exit remained free of incidents for the early practice sessions, some claimed that it was both very difficult and dangerous.

Where to watch the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix 2021 


Article continues below this ad

In India, the practice sessions, qualifying and the race will be broadcast on the Star Sports network. In Africa, Supersport is in charge of broadcast while in Asia and Australia, Fox Sports handles the broadcast. Canada has RDS while China telecasts the race on CCTV. France relies of TF1 and Canal+ for their Formula One telecast.

Germany, Austria and Switzerland have RTL Germany to thank. Italians who cannot travel to Monza will be watching on Sky Italia. Spain and Andorra have Movistar, while the United Kingdom has Channel 4 and Sky Sports. USA also shows the race on ESPN, while Brazil relies on TV Globo.

Abu Dhabi Grand Prix 2021 Tickets


Article continues below this ad

Tickets are mostly available on the official Formula One website.