Singapore Grand Prix

Singapore Grand Prix – Latest News, Winners, Qualifying, Circuits, Track

Unfortunately, The 2020 Singapore Grand Prix was called off due to pademic restrictions and the volatile nature of the Formula One calendar.

As always, the race is held at the Marina Bay street circuit. The Singapore Grand Prix was first introduced to the F1 calendar in 2008. Since then, it has been a regular feature in the Formula One World Championship except this season.


The very first race itself was mired in controversy, courtesy Renault. Apparently, Nelson Piquet Jr was told to crash his car deliberately to bring out the safety car.

Meanwhile, his teammate Fernando Alonso had already pitted for fresh tyres and fuel. So he benefitted handsomely when the rest of the pack pitted under the safety car, vaulting him up the order to an unlikely win.

However, months later, the FIA smelt a rat and investigated the incident. Then Piquet Jr squealed, revealing that his crash was a ploy to let Alonso win. As a result, team principal Flavio Briatore was banned and Nelson Piquet Jr’s career was practically thrown away.

While the track itself isn’t the best suited to overtaking, it makes for a spectacle with F1 cars shining under the lights in all their glory.

Past Winners

Name Nationality Year
Fernando Alonso Spain 2008, 2010
Lewis Hamilton England 2009, 2014, 2017, 2018
Nico Rosberg Germany 2016
Sebastian Vettel Germany 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2019

Past Constructors Winners

Manufacturer Year
Ferrari 2010, 2015, 2019
McLaren 2009
Mercedes 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018
Red Bull 2011, 2012, 2013
Renault 2008

Singapore Grand Prix  Circuit Details

Like Monaco, the Singapore Grand Prix is held on a street circuit. However, the track is admittedly a little wider, which allows for some overtaking.

The circuit length is around 5.063 kilometres with the track record being 1 minute and 41.905 seconds. It also has an average speed of 178.782 km/h.

Where to watch Singapore Grand Prix 2019

In India, the practice sessions, qualifying and the race will be broadcast on the Star Sports network. In Africa, Supersport is in charge of broadcast while in Asia and Australia, Fox Sports handles the broadcast. Canada has RDS while China telecasts the race on CCTV.

France relies of TF1 and Canal+ for their Formula One telecast. Germany, Austria and Switzerland have RTL Germany to thank. Italians who cannot travel to Monza will be watching on Sky Italia. Spain and Andorra have Movistar, while the United Kingdom has Channel 4 and Sky Sports. USA also shows the race on ESPN.

Singapore Grand Prix Tickets

Tickets are mostly available on the official Formula One website.

Singapore Grand Prix Venue

Since 2008, the venue for the Singapore Grand Prix has been the Marina Bay Street Circuit. As of the latest news, Singapore will be featured for the 2020 season as well.

Session Day Time
FP1 Friday 16:30-18:00 Local time
FP2 Friday 20:30-22:00 Local time
FP3 Saturday 18:00-19:00 Local time
Qualifying Saturday 21:00-22:00 Local time
Race Sunday 20:10-22:10 Local time