Italian Open

Italian Open History

The Italian Open Tennis tournament is also known as the Rome Masters 2019. The tournament is sponsored by Internazionali BNL, as a result, it has taken on BNL’s name. The tournament is primarily played on clay at the Foro Italico in Rome.

It was first held in 1930, and the inaugural winners were Bill Tilden and Lili de Alvarez. Since its inception, the venues have changed from Milan to Rome to Turin and finally back to Rome.

In terms of points awarded, since it is a Premier 5 event, 900 points will be awarded to the winning WTA player. On the other side of the fence, the winning ATP player will be awarded 1000 points, as it is a Masters 1000 event.

Previous Winners (ATP)

Past 15 Years

Carlos Moya 2004
Rafael Nadal 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2018
Novak Djokovic 2008, 2011, 2014, 2015
Andy Murray 2016
Alexander Zverev 2017

Previous Winners (WTA)

Past 15 Years

Amelie Mauresmo 2004, 2005
Martina Hingis 2006
Jelena Jankovic 2007, 2008
Dinara Safina 2009
Maria Joze Martinez Sanchez 2010
Maria Sharapova 2011, 2012, 2015
Serena Williams 2013, 2014, 2016
Elina Svitolina 2017, 2018

Italian Open Schedule

The Italian Open 2019 is set to commence on the 15th of May and concludes on the 21st of May. This will also be the 76th edition of the tournament.

Italian Open Records

Till date, Rafael Nadal is the most successful player, with 8 wins under his belt. In the WTA, Chris Evert is the most successful player, with 5 Italian Open wins.

Rafael Nadal is also the only ATP player to be in the most finals, namely 10. Meanwhile, Chris Evert has also been involved in the most WTA finals, with 7 under her belt.

Nadal even holds the record for the most consecutive titles, with 3. On the other end of the spectrum, Conchita Martinez has racked up 4 consecutive titles

Also Read: Italian Open 2019 Men’s Draw