Share this article

Brazilian Grand Prix

via Getty

Brazilian Grand Prix 2021 - Latest News, Winners, Qualifying, Circuits

The Brazilian Grand Prix traditionally commences a couple of weeks after the US and Mexican Grand Prix weekends. The race is conventionally held at the Autódromo José Carlos Pace, as has been the case since 1972, except for the 1978 season and from 1981 till 1989.


Article continues below this ad

Since then, it has been a regular feature in the Formula One World Championship. However, prior to that, it was held at Jacarepagua in Rio de Janeiro.

Most Winners

Alain ProstFrance1982, 1984, 1985, 1987, 1988, 1990
Michael SchumacherGermany1994, 1995, 2000, 2002
Sebastian VettelGermany2010, 2013, 2017
Emerson FittipaldiBrazil1973, 1974
Nelson PiquetBrazil1983, 1986
Nigel MansellEngland1989, 1992
Mika HakkinenFinland1998, 1999
Ayrton SennaBrazil1991, 1993
Juan Pablo MontoyaColombia2004, 2005
Felipe MassaBrazil2006, 2008
Mark WebberAustralia2009, 2011
Nico RosbergGermany2014, 2015
Lewis HamiltonEngland2016, 2018

Past Constructors Winners

McLaren1974, 1984, 1985, 1987, 1988, 1991, 1993, 1998, 1999, 2001, 2005, 2012
Ferrari1976, 1977, 1978, 1989, 1990, 2000, 2002, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2017
Williams1981, 1986, 1992, 1996, 1997, 2004
Red Bull2009, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2019
Mercedes2014, 2015, 2016, 2018
Renault1980, 1982

Brazilian Grand Prix Circuit Details 

The Autódromo José Carlos Pace is a 4.309-kilometer circuit. It consists of 15 turns with an elevation change of 43 meters. The highest point of the track is on the rise between the start-finish line and Turn 1, but from there the drivers plunge downhill all the way to Turn 5 – the lowest point on the circuit. In fact, it is practically the same height as Paris’ famous Arc de Triomphe.


Article continues below this ad

Where to watch

In India, the practice sessions, qualifying, and the race will be broadcast on the Star Sports network. In Africa, Supersport is in charge of the broadcast while in Asia and Australia, Fox Sports handles the broadcast. Canada has RDS while China telecasts the race on CCTV. France relies on TF1 and Canal+ for their Formula One telecast.

Germany, Austria, and Switzerland have RTL Germany to thank. Italians who cannot travel to Monza can watch on Sky Italia. Spain and Andorra have Movistar, while the United Kingdom has Channel 4 and Sky Sports. The USA also shows the race on ESPN, while Brazil relies on TV Globo.


Article continues below this ad

Brazilian Grand Prix Tickets

Tickets are mostly available on the official Formula One website.