Share this article

Italian Grand Prix


What Americans are reading

via Reuters

Italian Grand Prix - 2021 Winners, Qualifying, Circuits, Track

The Italian Grand Prix is said to be the fifth oldest Grand Prix on the F1 calender, along with the British Grand Prix. It has featured in every season of the Formula One World Championship since 1950.

The 2021 Italian Grand Prix will be from 9 September to 11 September.

via Reuters

Past Winners

Michael SchumacherGermany1996, 1998, 2000, 2003, 2006
Lewis HamiltonEngland2012, 2014, 2015, 2017, 2018
Nelson PiquetBrazil1980, 1983, 1986, 1987
Alberto AscariItaly1949, 1951, 1952
Juan Manuel FangioArgentina1953, 1954, 1955
Stirling MossEngland1956, 1957, 1959
Ronnie PetersonSweden1973, 1974, 1976
Alain ProstFrance1981, 1985, 1989
Rubens BarrichelloBrazil2002, 2004, 2009
Sebastian VettelGermany2008, 2011, 2013
Phil HillEngland1960, 1961
John SurteesEngland1964, 1967
Jackie StewartEngland1965, 1969
Clay RegazzoniItaly1970, 1975
Niki LaudaAustria1978, 1984
Ayrton SennaBrazil1990, 1992
Damon HillEngland1993, 1994
Juan Pablo MontoyaColombia2001, 2005
Fernando AlonsoSpain2007, 2010

The 2020 Italian Grand Prix produced one of the greatest races F1 has seen in recent times. AlphaTauri's Pierre Gasly clinched his first F1 win ahead of McLaren's Carlos Sainz and Racing Point's Lance Stroll.

via Getty

Past Constructors Winners


1996,?1998,?2000,?2002,?2003,?2004,?2006,?2010, 2019

Alfa Romeo1950
Renault1981, 1982
Red Bull2011, 2013

Circuit Details

Monza is fondly known as the Temple of Speed and is the fastest circuit on the Formula 1 calendar. The circuit is characterized by long straights and a handful of chicanes and high-speed corners. Having been been an integral part of Formula 1 since its inception in 1950, the track's rich history makes it the personification of the sport, according to many.

One of the most famous corners is the Curva Parabolica, the final corner. It is here that many a race have been won or lost, or has seen a lot of drama.

The circuit itself has also undergone a number of changes since 1950. In other words, evolving from an oval to the modern-day layout and still retaining its title of being one of the fastest F1 circuits.

Where to watch

In India, the practice sessions, qualifying, and the race will be broadcast on the Star Sports network. In Africa, Supersport is in charge of broadcast while in Asia and Australia, Fox Sports handles the broadcast. Canada has RDS while China telecasts the race on CCTV.

France relies of TF1 and Canal+ for their Formula One telecast. Germany, Austria, and Switzerland have RTL Germany to thank. Italians who cannot travel to Monza can catch the race on Sky Italia. Spain and Andorra have Movistar, while the United Kingdom has Channel 4 and Sky Sports. USA also shows the race on ESPN.


Tickets are available on the official Formula One website.


As always, since the 1950 season, the venue for the Italian Grand Prix has been the Autodromo Nazionale Monza. Also, according to latest reports, the venue will stay on until at least 2024.