Arizona Cardinals

Arizona Cardinals: News, Schedule, Roster, Score, Injury Report

The Cardinals had a history as an amateur club with their origins in the latter part of the nineteenth century. They played as the Morgan Athletic Club for 22 years from 1898 to 1920.

In 1920, the team was one of the founder members of the NFL alongside the Green Bay Packers and The Bears, who were based in Decatur at the time.

The Cardinals spent 40 seasons in Chicago but played the 1944 NFL season under a different name, the Card-Pitt. The move was due to numerous football players drafted into active service. As a result, the Pittsburgh Steelers and Chicago Cardinals merged for a single season.

However, their abysmal performance led to them being labeled as “Car-Pitts” as they didn’t win a single game and disbanded after the war ended in 1945.

Like The Bears, the Cardinals also have switched their base of operations. The team moved to Missouri and were based in St. Louis from 1960 to 1988. From 1963, they had a state rival in the form of the Kansas City Chiefs.

In 1988, the franchise moved west to the state of Phoenix. Despite their move, they remained in the NFC’s East Division until the 2002 NFL expansion. At this time, the league assigned them to the NFC West where they played alongside the San Francisco 49ers, Seattle Seahawks, and Los Angeles Rams.

The Arizona Cardinals finished the 2019 NFL season second in the NFC West. As a result, their post-season drought has entered a sixth season which the franchise will hope to end quickly. They finished the season at eighth in the overall NFC standings.

In the 2020 season, the Arizona Cardinals will hope to build on a 7-9 record with their quarterback and 2019 top draft pick Kyler Murray entering his sophomore season.


The Cardinals are a family-owned team with ownership passing through in the Bidwill family. The Bidwill’s first involvement in the team came in 1933, when Bidwell purchased the team in Chicago.

Later, his son, Bill Bidwill took control of the team for nearly four decades before passing on the baton of President and owner to his son Michael in 2007. This came after Bill oversaw the Cardinals’ move from the Sun Devil Stadium to the University of Phoenix Stadium.

Arizona Cardinals Achievements

The Arizona Cardinals have tasted success with their NFL Championship wins in the pre-Super-Bowl era as the Chicago Cardinals. The franchise endured a 61-season drought before achieving success in the form of a maiden conference championship.

They clinched the NFC title in 2008 and earned a trip to the Super Bowl XLIII game to face the Pittsburgh Steelers. Besides these, the Cardinals have claimed seven divisional titles and have made it to the Playoffs 10 times.

The franchise is starved of success on an individual level and is one of seven NFL sides to have not produced a single regular-season MVP winner.

Arizona Cardinals Logo

The Cardinals’ original logo featured the letter ‘C’ encircled by a larger C in all deep red. Later, when they merged with the Pittsburgh Steelers for a single season, the logo read out “Card-Pitt”. For the next dozen seasons, the Cardinal was given a brown color, and it stood on the seam of a football.

In 1960, when the team departed Chicago, they created a crest featuring a beefed-up Cardinal sprinting towards the end zone with a football in hand.

The Cardinal football player became more prominent in the 1962 season as it sprinted through a loop.

In 1970, the Cardinals introduced a version of the logo that fans still see on the jersey today. It featured a Cardinal staring to the right.

The franchise retained the design but changed the brightened the red face and yellow beak. Six NFL seasons later, the powers that be oversaw another minor change. As the team changed their name from Phoenix Cardinals to Arizona Cardinals, their colors red and yellow in their logo became a tad darker.

The franchise continued with this logo for eleven seasons before shaking things up ahead of the 2005 NFL season. Their new logo saw the Cardinal get a fierce glare.

Its beak appeared much more prominent than earlier. Furthermore, they changed the outline to give the impression of the staring downwards as though surveying the scene. Also, the black line near the front of the Cardinal’s face is sharper, thus adding to the mean look.

Arizona Cardinals 2020 Roster

The Arizona Cardinals have a 53-player roster for the 2020 NFL season. This comprises three quarterbacks, three running backs, six wide receivers, three tight ends, ten offensive linemen, six defensive linemen, ten linebackers, nine defensive backs, and three special teams players.

Quarterbacks 7 Brett Hundley

1 Kyler Murray

15 Chris Streveler

Running Backs 26 Eno Benjamin

41 Kenyan Drake

29 Chase Edmonds

Wide Receivers 11 Larry Fitzgerald

10 DeAndre Hopkins

17 Andy Isabella

19 KeeSean Johnson

13 Christian Kirk

16 Trent Sherfield

Tight Ends 85 Dan Arnold

81 Darrell Daniels

80 Jordan Thomas

Offensive linemen 68 Kelvin Beachum T

52 Mason Cole C

53 Lamont Gaillard C

73 Max Garcia G

74 D. J. Humphries T

79 Josh Jones T

66 Joshua Miles T

71 Justin Murray T

67 Justin Pugh G

64 J. R. Sweezy G

Defensive linemen 94 Zach Allen DE

96 Angelo Blackson DE

95 Leki Fotu DE

92 Rashard Lawrence NT

98 Corey Peters NT

97 Jordan Phillips DE

linebackers 59 De’Vondre Campbell ILB

49 Kylie Fitts OLB

45 Dennis Gardeck OLB

58 Jordan Hicks ILB

55 Chandler Jones OLB

42 Devon Kennard OLB

43 Haason Reddick OLB

48 Isaiah Simmons ILB

47 Zeke Turner ILB

51 Tanner Vallejo ILB

Defensive backs 32 Budda Baker FS

31 Chris Banjo SS

20 Dre Kirkpatrick CB

33 Byron Murphy CB

27 Kevin Peterson CB

21 Patrick Peterson CB

35 Curtis Riley SS

22 Deionte Thompson FS

28 Charles Washington SS

Special teams 46 Aaron Brewer LS

5 Zane Gonzalez K

4 Andy Lee P

Achievements and History

Founded 1920
President Michael Bidwill
Conference NFC
Division NFC West
Head Coach Kliff Kingsbury
Location/Stadium State Farm Stadium
Championships Conference (1): 2008

Division (7)

NFL Western: 1947, 1948
NFC (East): 1974, 1975 (West): 2008, 2009, 2015

Super Bowl 2 NFL Championships

1925, 1947

Official website Arizona Cardinals
Mascot Big Red