Coca Cola 600

CONCORD, NC - MAY 26: Denny Hamlin, driver of the #11 FedEx Office Toyota, leads the field to the green flag to start the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte Motor Speedway on May 26, 2013 in Concord, North Carolina. (Photo by Chris Trotman/NASCAR via Getty Images)

Coca Cola 600 - History, Past Winners, Race Results

Coca-Cola 600 is a 600-mile NASCAR Cup Series race held at the Charlotte Motor Speedway in, North Carolina. The race occurs during the Memorial Day weekend.

It was the first race held at the new Charlotte Motor Speedway. At 600 miles, it is the longest race on NASCAR's timetable and was initially called the World 600.


Article continues below this ad

Charlotte Motor Speedway is 1.5 miles long. It takes 400 laps to finish the 600-mile race. The race is split into four stages of 100 laps each, which accounts for 600 miles.

The race is run around the same time as the Indianapolis 500 of IndyCar. A few drivers even perform Double Duty, contending in the two iconic races.

Past Winners

Three-time NASCAR Cup series champion Darrell Waltrip is the most successful driver at the Charlotte Motor Speedway. He has won the Coca-Cola race five times. Jimmie Johnson has four victories on this track.

Dale Earnhardt and Jeff Gordon have won the Coca-Cola three times. Brad Keselowski won the 2020 Coca-Cola race.

The 2021 Coca-Cola race is scheduled for 31 May, 2021.

Name Changes


Article continues below this ad

The race was known as the World 600 from 1960 to 1984. The name was changed to the Coca-Cola World 600 in 1985.

In 1986, the race was given the name "Coca-Cola 600." It was alluded to as Coke 600 at that point.

The name changed again in 2002 to the Coca-Cola Racing Family 600. In 2003, the race was again named the "Coca-Cola 600."


Article continues below this ad

VenueCharlotte Motor Speedway
LocationConcord, North Carolina, United States
First race1960
Distance600 Miles
Previous namesWorld 600 (1960–1984)

Coca-Cola World 600 (1985)
Coca-Cola 600 (1986–2001, 2003–) Coca-Cola Racing Family 600 (2002)

Most wins (driver)Darrell Waltrip-5
Most wins (team)Hendrick Motorsports-11
Where to watch on tvNBCSN, Fox Sports, RDS, Sportitalia, Sport TV