New Orleans Pelicans

New Orleans Pelicans 2021: News, Schedule, Roster, Score, Injury Report

The New Orleans Pelicans is owned by Gayle Benson. They are part of the NBA's Western Conference Southwest division along with the Dallas Mavericks, Houston Rockets, Memphis Grizzlies, and the San Antonio Spurs. The New Orleans Pelicans play their games at the city's Smoothie King Center.  

The side was established in 2002 after they moved from Charlotte to New Orleans. Initially, they were called the New Orleans Hornets, as the owner did not like the city.


Article continues below this ad

When the New Orleans team changed their name from Hornets to Pelicans in the year 2013. All the history and records of their first fourteen years from 1988 to 2002 were returned to the new NBA side in Charlotte.

From 2005 to 2007, the franchise shifted to Oklahoma City due to the destruction caused by Hurricane Katrina. In these two years, the franchise was rechristened the New Orleans/Oklahoma City Hornets.

The New Orleans Pelicans have had mixed fortunes since relocating in 2002. They have reached the Western Conference Playoffs on 7 occasions. However, the side has won a playoff series just twice. These were in 2008 as the Hornets when they beat the Dallas Mavericks and in the year 2018 under their new name where they swept the Portland Trail Blazers 4-0.

Notable players to have featured for the New Orleans Pelicans include Chris Paul, Anthony Davis, Austin Rivers, DeMarcus Cousins, and Zion Williamson.

Read More: Zion Williamson: A Glimpse of His Impressive College Stats


Article continues below this ad

 Achievements and History








Dennis Lauscha

General Manager 

Trajan Langdon

Head Coach 



Smoothie King Center

Championships (0)


Conference Titles (0)


Division Titles (1)



New Orleans Pelicans 2021 Roster


Article continues below this ad

12Steven AdamsC6-11265July 20, 1993
6Nickeil Alexander-WalkerSG6-6205September 2, 1998
2Lonzo BallPG6-6190October 27, 1997
5Eric BledsoeSG6-1214December 9, 1989
Wenyen GabrielPF6-9205March 26, 1997
3Josh HartSF6-5215March 6, 1995
10Jaxson HayesC6-11220May 23, 2000
9Willy HernangómezC6-11250May 27, 1994
14Brandon IngramSF6-8190September 2, 1997
13Kira Lewis Jr.PG6-1170April 6, 2001
Will Magnay  (TW)C6-10234June 10, 1998
8Naji Marshall  (TW)SF6-7220January 24, 1998
20Nicolò MelliPF6-9236January 26, 1991
4J.J. RedickSG6-3200June 24, 1984
15Sindarius ThornwellSG6-4215November 15, 1994
1Zion WilliamsonPF6-7284July 6, 2000