Cincinnati Bengals

Cincinnati Bengals: News, Schedule, Roster, Score, Injury Report

The Cincinnati Bengals entered professional football ahead of the 1968 AFL season. This helped the AFL meet the criteria of the historic AFL-NFL merger of 1970 as The Bengals were the tenth team.

Initially, the franchise hosted opposition football teams at the Nippert Stadium.

In 1970, the team moved its base and remained at the Riverfront Stadium for the better part of three decades. During their time in the NFL, Cincinnati Bengals featured as part of the AFC’s Central division.

Following the NFL’s last expansion in 2002, the Bengals moved to the AFC North division. They play alongside the Baltimore Ravens, Pittsburgh Steelers, and state rivals the Cleveland Browns.


The Cincinnati Bengals are owned by Mike Brown, son of founder/owner and first head coach Paul Brown. Mike took over at the helm of the Cincinnati Bengals in the 1991 NFL season and serves as The President and general manager too.


The Bengals could not put an exclamation on the NFL or their division. Nevertheless, the franchise has tasted success, albeit sporadically. Cincinnati Bengals have won the AFC Central division five times in 32 years. Following the expansion, they claimed the AFC North title in 2005 to end a 15-year divisional drought.

Further titles came in 2009, 2013, and 2015. However, none of these resulted in deep playoff runs akin to their AFC Championship wins for the 1981 and 1988 NFL seasons. Unfortunately, they fell in both Super Bowl appearances to the San Francisco 49ers.


The Cincinnati Bengals have had a plethora of logos on their crest since it’s inception. Initially, in the AFC days, the franchise logo was one of a tiger running with a football as its helmet fell off.

In their third season, the Cincinnati Bengals logo featured a football helmet with the moniker ‘Bengals’ written on it in black. This version omitted the tiger stripes.

The signature identification of the Bengal tiger returned in the 80s as the franchise opted to change things around. They changed the helmet grill to black, tweaked the angle, and adorned the helmet with black stripes.

The stripe pattern changed in the 90s, and so did the grill. However, this too didn’t last long as the Cincinnati Bengals had the face of a Bengal tiger as their logo from the 1997 NFL season to the 2003 NFL season.

The Bengals’ current logo has been the one in use for the longest period. Introduced ahead of the 2004 NFL season, the franchise still turns up for football games with a ‘B’ crest. This is an orange logo with black stripes that can signify the claws of the tiger.

Read: A Look at Joe Burrow’s College Football Career: From a Bench Warmer to Heisman Trophy Winner and Top Draft Pick

Andy Dalton era

From 2011 to 2015, the Cincinnati Bengals set a franchise record as they reached the NFL Playoffs in five consecutive seasons. Their previous best came with back-to-back post-season appearances in 1981 and 1982.

The streak coincided with the arrival of second-round pick Andy Dalton. However, the first post-season outing proved to be curtains for the Bengals’ season on each occasion. Unfortunately, the franchise is yet to match their AFC Championship winning run.

In 2020, the franchise won the top draft pick as they had the worst record in the 2019 NFL season. The side roped in LSU Tigers’ Heisman Trophy winner Joe Burrow. Subsequently, the club parted ways with Andy Dalton to guarantee Burrow’s spot as starting quarterback.

Read: Andy Dalton Let Go From the Cincinnati Bengals

Cincinnati Bengals 2020 Roster

The Cincinnati Bengals have a 53-player roster for the 2020 NFL season. This consists of two quarterbacks, four running backs, seven wide receivers, three tight ends, eight offensive linemen, ten defensive linemen, six linebackers, nine defensive backs, and four special team players.

Quarterbacks 9 Joe Burrow

5 Ryan Finley

Running Backs 25 Giovani Bernard

28 Joe Mixon

34 Samaje Perine

32 Trayveon Williams

Wide Receivers 83 Tyler Boyd

12 Alex Erickson

18 A. J. Green

85 Tee Higgins

11 John Ross

19 Auden Tate

80 Mike Thomas

Tight Ends 82 Cethan Carter

89 Drew Sample

86 Mason Schreck

Offensive linemen 68 Bobby Hart T

73 Jonah Williams T

66 Trey Hopkins C

74 Fred Johnson G

60 Michael Jordan G

53 Billy Price G

77 Hakeem Adeniji G

63 Shaq Calhoun G

Defensive linemen 97 Geno Atkins DT

91 Amani Bledsoe DT

93 Andrew Brown DT

99 Christian Covington DT

76 Mike Daniels DT

98 D. J. Reader DT

96 Carlos Dunlap DE

94 Sam Hubbard DE

90 Khalid Kareem DE

58 Carl Lawson DE

linebackers 51 Markus Bailey MLB

56 Josh Bynes MLB

55 Logan Wilson MLB

59 Akeem Davis-Gaither OLB

50 Jordan Evans OLB

57 Germaine Pratt OLB

Defensive backs 21 Mackensie Alexander CB

27 Tony Brown CB

22 William Jackson III CB

23 Darius Phillips CB

38 LeShaun Sims CB

36 Shawn Williams SS

24 Vonn Bell SS

40 Brandon Wilson FS

30 Jessie Bates FS

Special teams 4 Randy Bullock K

3 Austin Seibert K

46 Clark Harris LS

10 Kevin Huber P

Achievements and History

Founded 1967
President Mike Brown
Conference AFC
Division AFC North
Head Coach Zak Taylor
Location/Stadium Paul Brown Stadium
Championships AFC (1981, 1988)

Central AFC (1970, 1973, 1981, 1988, 1990)

AFC North (2005, 2009, 2013, 2015)

Super Bowl 0
Official website Cincinnati Bengals
Mascot Who Dey