Portuguese Grand Prix

Formula One F1 - Portuguese Grand Prix - Algarve International Circuit, Portimao, Portugal - October 25, 2020 Mercedes' Lewis Hamilton celebrates winning the race on the podium with second placed Mercedes' Valtteri Bottas, third placed Red Bull's Max Verstappen and Mercedes race engineer Peter Bonnington Pool via REUTERS/Rudy Carezzevoli

Portuguese Grand Prix 2021 - Winners, Qualifying, Circuits, Track

The Portuguese Grand Prix could easily be called the Messiah of hard times.

Since the 1950s, the races have traditionally been held at Lisbon. This season, the weekend is being staged at Algarve. The land has been home to F1 weekend races for a considerable period.


Article continues below this ad

They hosted the Portuguese Grand Prix 25 times, with some mid-breaks included. The first race was witnessed in the year 1951 at the Boavista street course in Porto. The race was shortly moved to Lisbon in the year 1954.

It was on August 14, 1958, that the races were finally recognized in the section of the F1 Championship. Portugal has also tabled different genres of motorsports other than F1.

Formula One F1 - Portuguese Grand Prix - Algarve International Circuit, Portimao, Portugal - October 22, 2020, General view of the circuit ahead of the Grand Prix REUTERS/Rafael Marchante

1996 was the last year of the Portuguese Grand Prix. Memorable races include those that happened in 1989, 1990, 1991, and 1992. Jacques Villeneuve, the rookie, won the title in the final race for Williams.

After the remodification of the track, the respective authorities confirmed the return of the F1 race in the calendar.

Lewis Hamilton won the 2021 edition of the race ahead of Max Verstappen and Valtteri Bottas.

Most Winners

Alain ProstFrench1984,1987,


Nigel MansellBritish1986,1990


Stirling MossBritish1958,1959

Past Constructors Winners

Ferrari1951, 1952, 1953, 1954,

1964, 1989,


Williams1986, 1991,

1992, 1994,

1995, 1996

McLaren1984, 1987,


Maserati1955, 1957

Portuguese Grand Prix Circuit Details

The circuit that has held the Portuguese Grand Prix 25 times possesses 66 laps. The track has a circuit length of 4.653- kilometers and a race length of 306.826-kilometers.

The Autodromo Internacional do Algarve that hosted this year's race was inaugurated in 2008, and hosted its maiden F1 race last year.

Considering it is one of the most efficient tracks at present, the Acque Minerali is the most attractive and challenging corner with a double-apex. The track is constructed to provide a good chance for the motorists to overtake.

Where to watch

In Asia and Australia and Latin America, the practice sessions, qualifying rounds, and the race will broadcast on Fox Sports. In India, the Star Sports network will telecast the race while in Africa, SuperSport will showcase the broadcast. Belgium will have TV Globo and SporTV handle their telecast.

Canada will have RDS and TSN broadcast the event while China will have the race telecast on CCTV, Tencent, and Guangdong TV. The Czech Republic and Slovakia have Sport1, Sport2, and Sport5 for broadcasting the three-day course while Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania will telecast the race on TBC.


Article continues below this ad

France has TF1 and Canal+ while Germany, Austria, and Switzerland have RTL Germany n-tv for the broadcast. Hungary has M4 while Sky Italia and TV8 will broadcast for Italy. Japan will have Fuji Television, Network Inc., and Dazn air the race.

Mexico has TUDN Mexico while Malta has Total Sports Network on which viewers can watch the race. Portugal residents who cannot travel to Algarve to watch the race can view it on Eleven Sports. Those in Poland can do the same.

Match TV will broadcast in Russia while Spain and Andorra have Movistar to provide them with the race telecast. The United Kingdom has C4 and Sky Sports while the USA can watch it on ESPN. https://www.formula1.com/en/toolbar/broadcast-information.html


Article continues below this ad





Damon Hill (1:20.330)

3. M. Schumacher (+53.765)

2. D. Hill (+19.966)

1. J. Villeneuve (1:40:22.915)

MOST WINNERSNigel Mansell- 3 times

Alain Prost- 3 times




4.653 km

306.826 km

T.V TELECAST, LIVE STREAMINGhttps://www.formula1.com/en/toolbar/broadcast-information.html