Houston Texans

Houston Texans: News, Schedule, Roster, Score, Injury Report


The club got their start as an expansion team back in 2002 and they are the youngest franchise currently in the league. The Texans were chosen as replacements for the Houston Oilers who later moved out to Nashville and are currently called the Tennessee Titans. The Houston Texans are under the eye of Janice McNair who took over from her husband Bob McNair following his death in 2018.

The franchise’s most successful season came in 2011 after having a rough go in their first active decade in the league. However, being relatively new entrants into the NFL means that they are the only franchise to have never appeared in a conference championship game as of the 2019 season. However, the Texans have won six AFC South championships spanning from 2011 to 2019.

The Texans were eliminated from playoff contention after a week 14 loss to the Chicago Bears standing in the third position in the AFC South. Following their first 0-4 start since 2008, Head Coach Bill O’Brien was fired and replaced by Romeo Crennel who comes in as the interim Head Coach.


Former owner Bob McNair announced three names for the franchise after Houston returned to the NFL for the 2002 season after the Oilers moved to Tennessee. The name Texans were selected after consideration with the other options being Apollos and Stallion.

There has been a tremendous sense of uniformity to the logo right from 2002 that sees the red, white, and blue state flag colors. However, their color scheme differs slightly from the state flag as the Houston Texans use a darker blue and a lighter red. The design was created by Verlander Design, a California studio that has come up with many emblems for other NFL teams.

Owner Achievements

Janice McNair, owner, and co-founder of the Houston Texans is amongst the top-ranked richest owners in the league. Additionally, she is also currently the richest female sports owner in the United States. She is the widow of Bob McNair who held ownership right unto his death in November 2018.

Janice McNair is one of 10 female NFL owners and comes in with a net worth believed to be $4 billion USD. Chiefly, her son Cal McNair is currently the CEO and looks into the day-to-day affairs of the franchise. However, Janice remains the representative and senior chair for the Houston Texans at owner meetings.


Houston Texans and Chastang Ford partnered up to provide Ford truck enthusiasts a money-saving offer exclusively for Texans season ticket holders and Texans Corporate Partner employees. The franchise also has a tie-up with BHP Billiton which is a leading resource company that extracts and processes minerals, oils, and gas.

Additionally, Invisalign clear aligner system partnered up with several NFL franchises with the Texans being one of them. Through the agreement drawn up, Invisalign will connect doctors, patients, and consumers through a network of NFL sponsored channels.

Roster Foundation

Quarterback 2. A.J McCarron

3. Josh McCown

4. Deshaun Watson

Running backs 38. Buddy Howell

25. Duke Johnson

40. Scottie Phillips

24. C.J. Prosise

Wide receivers 13. Brandin Cooks

82. Isaiah Coulter

16. Keke Coutee

17. Chad Hansen

11. Steven Mitchell

Tight ends 88. Jordan Akins

85. Pharaoh Brown

87. Darren Fells

81. Kahale Warring

Offensive linemen 77. Hjalte Froholdt

73. Zach Fulton

67. Charlie Heck

71. Tytus Howard

63. Roderick Johnson

64. Senio Kelemete

66. Nick Martin

76. Brent Qvale

74. Max Scharping

78. Laremy Tunsil

Defensive linemen 90. Ross Blacklock

97. Andrew Brown

92. Brandon Dunn

93. Corey Liuget

94. Charles Omenihu

91. Carlos Watkins

99. J.J Watt

Linebackers 50. Tyrell Adams

41. Zach Cunningham

56. Kyle Emanuel

52. Jonathan Greenard

48. Nate Hall

58. Peter Kalambayi

54. Jacob Martin

59. Whitney Mercilus

Defensive backs 30. Cornell Armstrong

43. Anthony Chesley

35. Keion Crossen

29. Philip Gaines

26. Vernon Hargreaves

32. Lonnie Johnson Jr.

33. A.J. Moore

23. Eric Murray

36. Jonathan Owens

34. John Reid

20. Justin Reid

Special teams 9. Bryan Anger

7. Ka’imi Fairbairn

46. Jon Weeks


Texans owner Janice McNair founded the Robert and Janice McNair Educational Foundation with the aim to remove the financial barriers that were a roadblock for Rutherford County High School graduates from attending college. Not to mention, the McNair Foundation has pumped in roughly $2.6 million in financial aid since its inception in 1989.

Through the COVID-19 pandemic, McNair donated $1 million to the Houston rent relief fund to help apartment residents through the crisis. Additionally, McNair reportedly holds the record for the largest donation ever by an NFL owner that clocked in at $5million. The donation was directed towards a community-building project in Houston.

History and Achievements

Founded 1999
Owner Janice McNair
CEO Cal McNair
Head Coach Bill O’Brien (Fired Oct 5, 0-4 record)

Interim Head Coach- Romeo Crennel

Stadium NRG Stadium
Location Houston Texans
Sponsors Fitness Connection, Grupo Vidanta, InviteManager, Invisalign, RTIC Coolers, BHP Billiton, Chastang Ford
Championships League championships (0)

Conference championships (0)

Division championships (6)

AFC South: 2011, 2012, 2015, 2016, 2018, 2019

Official Website Houston Texans- www.houstontexans.com