Green Bay Packers

Green Bay Packers: News, Schedule, Roster, Score, Injury Report

The Green Bay Packers are one of the oldest teams in the NFL and were the third team to join the ranks of professional football. The two teams that preceded the Packers still play in the NFL but have changed their names and base of operations.

The Packers have changed their name from the Green Bay Acme Packers to Green Bay Packers. Hence, the franchise can claim the record for a team that has spent the longest amount of time at a single base of operations.

This can be attributed to the community non-profit ownership model of the team. As of the 2020 NFL season, the Green Bay Packers are the only community-owned franchise to be in operation in 2020.

The franchise had humble roots in the small town of Green Bay, Wisconsin. Its name comes from the town and the company (Indian Packing Company) whose team founder Earl Lambeau took money from to create the uniforms.

Lambeau set the record for most NFL championships by a single coach with his wins in 1929-31, 1936,1939, and 1944. However, he never claimed the trophy as a player.

After nearly three decades, Green Bay Packers were in the doldrums financially. Their alternatives were to wrap up operations or relocate. Later, their controversial training facility caught fire and Lambeau departed to Chicago.

The insurance money from the Rockwood Lodge incident helped the Packers retain their base. A decade later, they ascended to the top, and under Vincent Lombardi, they claimed the inaugural Super Bowl title.

Now, they are a recognizable brand and Forbes puts them at #27 for 2019’s most valuable sports franchises. Further, they are #12 among NFL teams on the list.

Green Bay Packers play in the NFC North alongside the Minnesota Vikings, Detroit Lions, and Chicago Bears.

Green Bay Packers Owner

Being a non-profit team, the Green Bay Packers does not have a single owner. Instead, the franchise has multiple shareholders whose interests are served by a board of directors.

The shareholders make up the Green Bay Packers. Inc, and have a set of rules to ensure no single entity takes control of the franchise. No shareholder can hold more than 2,000 of the 5,009,518 shares available.


The Green Bay Packers (13) have won the most championship (pre-Super Bowl and Super Bowl) American football history. Furthermore, they are the only franchise to accomplish a three-peat (1929-31, 1965-67)

Over the course of their first three-peat, the team set a record for the most consecutive home games (P29 W26 T3) without a defeat.

The Green Bay Packers have won nine conference championships and 19 divisional championships. Furthermore, they have reached the Playoffs on 33 occasions during their storied tenure as one of the founding teams of the NFL.

They claimed the first two Super Bowl games and their accomplishments of five league titles under coach Vincent Lombardi saw the NFL rename their trophy to honor the late great Packers coach.

Five players have claimed the regular-season MVP award in a Green Bay Packers uniform. These are Paul Hornung (1961), Jim Taylor (1962) Bart Starr (1966) Brett Favre (1995-97), and Aaron Rodgers (2011, 2014).

Aaron Rodgers at the Green Bay Packers

The Green Bay Packers drafted Aaron Rodgers in 2005. He had the weight of expectations on him as he knew he would eventually replace 3x NFL MVP and Super Bowl winner Brett Favre.

The Packers quarterback led his side to the Vincent Lombardi Trophy in his third season and claimed the NFL MVP trophy in two of the next four seasons.

Read: THROWBACK: Green Bay Packers Quarterback Aaron Rodgers Eclipses Brett Favre with Super Bowl and MVP Win

Rodgers continues to lead the offense and is showing no signs of slowing down despite approaching his thirty-seventh birthday.


The Green Bay Packers’ first logo featured the slogan, “You want it we pack it.” Beneath the slogan were the words, “Acme Packers, Green Bay WI,” “1921 Football.”

They changed things around nearly three decades later. The Green Packers’ new logo came into existence ahead of the 1951 NFL season. It featured an orange football with the word “Packers” plastered across the front in dark green. On either side of the football are the field goal uprights.

Three seasons later, the franchise introduced a new logo. It was a yellow football that had a quarterback attempting a pass. The player is clad in yellow akin to the color of the football and his jersey has dark green infusion within it. This blended into the background with a green-tinged shape that resembled the state of Wisconsin.

In 1961, four years after moving to Lambeau Field where they still play their home games, the franchise adopted a simple logo that has become synonymous with them. It consists of the letter ‘G’ in white within a green circle. Until the 1980 NFL season, a white border surrounded the letter. The designers replaced it with a golden yellow border that remains to date.

Green Bay Packers 2020 Roster

The Packers have a 53-player roster for the 2020 NFL season. This comprises three quarterbacks, four running backs, five wide receivers, five tight ends,  eight offensive linemen, five defensive linemen, nine linebackers, eleven defensive backs, and three special teams players.

Quarterbacks 8 Tim Boyle

10 Jordan Love

12 Aaron Rodgers

Running Backs 28 A. J. Dillon

32 Tyler Ervin

33 Aaron Jones

30 Jamaal Williams

Wide Receivers 17 Davante Adams

13 Allen Lazard

82 Darrius Shepherd

86 Malik Taylor

83 Marquez Valdes-Scantling

Tight Ends 81 Josiah Deguara

89 Marcedes Lewis

45 John Lovett

87 Jace Sternberger

85 Robert Tonyan

Offensive linemen 63 Corey Linsley C

69 David Bakhtiari T

73 Yosh Nijman T

77 Billy Turner T

71 Rick Wagner T

62 Lucas Patrick G

76 Jon Runyan Jr. G

74 Elgton Jenkins G

Defensive linemen 90 Montravius Adams NT

97 Kenny Clark NT

96 Kingsley Keke DE

95 Tyler Lancaster DE

94 Dean Lowry DE

linebackers 51 Krys Barnes ILB

42 Oren Burks ILB

58 Christian Kirksey ILB

44 Ty Summers ILB

53 Jonathan Garvin OLB

52 Rashan Gary OLB

56 Randy Ramsey OLB

91 Preston Smith OLB

55 Za’Darius Smith OLB

Defensive backs 26 Darnell Savage FS

24 Raven Greene FS

29 Ka’dar Hollman CB

39 Chandon Sullivan CB

37 Josh Jackson CB

20 Kevin King CB

23 Jaire Alexander CB

35 Parry Nickerson CB

25 Will Redmond SS

31 Adrian Amos SS

36 Vernon Scott SS

Special teams 43 Hunter Bradley LS

2 Mason Crosby K

6 J. K. Scott P

Achievements and History

Founded 1919
President Mark H.Murphy
Conference NFC
Division NFC North
Head Coach Matt LaFleur
Location/Stadium Lambeau Field
Championships Conference: NFL Western: 1960, 1961, 1962, 1965, 1966, 1967

NFC: 1996, 1997, 2010

Divisional: NFL West: 1936, 1938, 1939, 1944

NFL Central: 1967

NFC Central: 1972, 1995, 1996, 1997

NFC North: 2002, 2003, 2004, 2007, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2019

Super Bowl NFL Championships (9)

1929, 1930, 1931, 1936, 1939, 1944, 1961, 1962, 1965

Super Bowl (4)

1966 (I), 1967 (II), 1996 (XXXI), 2010 (XLV)

Official website Green Bay Packers
Mascot N/A