Philadelphia Eagles

Philadelphia Eagles: News, Schedule, Roster, Score, Injury Report

The Philadelphia football franchise entered the NFL as a replacement for the Frankford Yellow Jackets. Named the Philadelphia Eagles, they made their professional football debut alongside the Pittsburgh Steelers and Cincinnati Reds. The former still features in the NFL whilst the latter folded after merely two seasons.

For the 1943 season, they merged with their state rivals Pittsburgh Steelers to form ‘The Steagles’.

Following the war, the Eagles emerged as a top team. They reached their inaugural season-ending game for the 1947 season. Following a setback, they claimed back-to-back championships in 1948 and 1949 without allowing the opposition a single point. Their feat speaks volumes about their robust defense.

The franchise has changed their home field three more times since claiming consecutive NFL championships.

Currently, they sit twenty third on the Forbes list for the most valuable sports teams of all time.  ‘The Birds’ or ‘The Iggles’ as they are known feature prominently with the colors or silver, midnight green, and black. Moreover, they are one of the few NFL teams to have an official fight song.

The Philadelphia Eagles play in the NFC East division. They feature alongside the Washington Football Team, New York Giants, and Dallas Cowboys. With fifth-year quarterback Carson Wentz and head coach Doug Pederson, the franchise will look to qualify outright to the playoffs and defend their NFC East divisional title.


Jeffrey Lurie and his family were great football fans. Lurie purchased the Eagles a few months before the 1994 NFL season for $198 million. The purchase came a year after Kraft defeated him in a bidding war for the New England Patriots.

Despite his ownership role of an NFL team, Lurie remained in the production business and claimed an Academy Award for producing ‘Inside Job’.


The Eagles have won the league four times, with three of those wins coming before the Super Bowl era. The franchise lifted the trophy at Super Bowl LII after beating the fancied New England Patriots with backup quarterback Nick Foles.

Philadelphia Eagles have claimed their conference championship four times. Their record has been good for the season as they have made the playoffs 27 times despite winning their division on just 14 occasions.

The Philadelphia Eagles can boast of just one player to have claimed the NFL regular season MVP award. This honor belongs to former quarterback and Hall of Famer Norm Van Brocklin, who won for the 1960 NFL season.


The Philadelphia Eagles have had multiple logo designs throughout their 87-year history in professional football.

The initial design lasted for three seasons. It featured a dark blue Eagle in flight carrying a football in its talons. In 1936, they changed the Eagle color to green and tweaked the angle of the football it had a hold of. This version of the logo featured the Eagle soaring through the sky.

In the ‘Steagles’ era, the hastily cobbled up team introduced a new logo. It was a black color eagle swooping downwards as though performing a touchdown.

In 1944, the Philadelphia Eagles opted for a light green eagle with elements retained from their ‘Steagles’ design. Four seasons later, they introduced yet another logo design. This time, the eagle had its wing spread wide, and it held the football only in its left claw.

This logo lasted for two decades before the franchise opted for a short-lived yet sharper version of the logo.

The next big change came about ahead of the 1973 NFL season. Philadelphia Eagles departed from their traditional Eagle carrying a football logo and incorporated a green helmet with a gray wing above the visor.

It lasted for 14 NFL seasons before The Eagle swooped back in. This time it was flying from left to right and had an eye-catching four-color combination.

Finally, in 1996, The Philadelphia Eagles adopted the logo that is on their uniforms even today. It features an eagle with a prominent beak and eye as it surveys the scene below.

Philadelphia Eagles 2020 Roster

The Philadelphia Eagles have a 53-player roster for the 2020 NFL season. This comprises three quarterbacks, five running backs, six wide receivers, three tight ends, nine offensive linemen, nine defensive linemen, six linebackers, nine defensive backs, and three special teams players.

Quarterbacks 2 Jalen Hurts

7 Nate Sudfeld

11 Carson Wentz

Running Backs 30 Corey Clement

32 Jason Huntley

46 Adrian Killins

26 Miles Sanders

35 Boston Scott KR

Wide Receivers 19 J. J. Arcega-Whiteside

13 Travis Fulgham

82 John Hightower

10 DeSean Jackson

17 Alshon Jeffery

84 Greg Ward

Tight Ends 89 Hakeem Butler

86 Zach Ertz

85 Richard Rodgers II

Offensive linemen 66 Jamon Brown G

63 Jack Driscoll T

67 Nate Herbig G

65 Lane Johnson T

74 Luke Juriga C

62 Jason Kelce C

68 Jordan Mailata T

78 Sua Opeta G

69 Matt Pryor G

Defensive linemen 58 Genard Avery DE

96 Derek Barnett DE

91 Fletcher Cox DT

55 Brandon Graham DE

93 Javon Hargrave DT

97 Malik Jackson DT

98 Hassan Ridgeway DT

94 Josh Sweat DE

56 Casey Toohill DE

linebackers 54 Shaun Bradley MLB

57 T. J. Edwards MLB

47 Nathan Gerry OLB

50 Duke Riley OLB

49 Alex Singleton OLB

52 Davion Taylor OLB

Defensive backs 22 Marcus Epps SS

36 Rudy Ford SS

34 Cre’Von LeBlanc CB

29 Avonte Maddox CB

23 Rodney McLeod FS

21 Jalen Mills SS

31 Nickell Robey-Coleman CB

24 Darius Slay CB

42 K’Von Wallace FS

Special teams 4 Jake Elliott K

1 Cameron Johnston P

45 Rick Lovato LS

Achievements and History

Founded 1933
President Don Smolenski
Conference NFC
Division NFC East
Head Coach Doug Pederson
Location/Stadium Lincoln Financial Field
Championships Conference championships (4)

NFL Eastern: 1960

NFC: 1980, 2004, 2017

Division championships (14)

NFL East: 1947, 1948, 1949

NFC East: 1980, 1988, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2010, 2013, 2017, 2019

Super Bowl NFL Championships (3)

1948, 1949, 1960

Super Bowl 2017 (LII)

Official website Philadelphia Eagles
Mascot Swoop