Share this article

French Open

French Open: Latest News, Results and Records

The second Grand Slam tournament in the sport of tennis, the French Open, also known as Roland-Garros, takes place during the last week of May and the first week of June at Stade Roland-Garros, Paris. It was founded in 1891 and has been played consistently except during the times of World War I and World War II. The tournament is played on clay and consists of the regular seven rounds as each major. French Open 2022 was the 126th edition of the tournament and was played on the renovated Court Philippe Chatrier.

via Reuters

The surface is slow, and it is the only Grand Slam where the final set is retained to be an advantage set i.e., played without a tiebreaker. It is the most prominent court clay tournament of tennis, and the game on his surface is regarded as the most physically exhaustive forms of tennis.


Article continues below this ad

The men’s trophy, Coupe des Mousquetaires, refers to 'The Four Musketeers' of French tennis, Jean Borotra, Jacques Brugnon, Henri Cochet, and René Lacoste. And the women’s trophy, Coupe Suzanne Lenglen is named after the French tennis player, Suzanne Rachel Flore Lenglen.

French Open points distribution

The French Open, also known as Roland Garros, is one of the events that offers significant prize money to the players. Apart from the lucrative prize money, the points awarded to the players who make it to latter stages also become a highly attractive prospect for both veterans and up-and-coming players.

The winner of the WTA and ATP versions is awarded 2000 points. The ATP runner-up is awarded 1200, and the WTA runner-up is given 1300. The points are reduced for each player who is eliminated in rounds prior to the final. Semifinalists in ATP get 720, and WTA get 780.  

Read more - Novak Djokovic’s Veteran Ex-coach Has Little Hopes About His French Open Chances as Rafael Nadal Threat Looms Large

French Open prize money

Since it is one of the most prestigious tournaments in the sport, the Roland Garros offers some of the highest prize money to its winners. The prize pool last year was $36.9 million, according to ESPN. But this year saw a prominent increment of 12.3% which finalized it at $54.6 million,. As per the officials, the prize pool was increased to ensure equal distribution.

via Reuters

The champion of the ATP and the WTA singles division will take home a whopping $2.51 million. Runner-ups will take home $1.53 million each, almost twice that of last year. This is officially the highest prize money the French Open has ever seen.

2022 French Open champions

The 2022 French Open finals became one of the most iconic events of the year. The ATP finals saw Rafael Nadal facing Casper Ruud and emerging triumphant in three sets. Viewers were amazed as the Spaniard won the match with a score of 6-3, 6-3, 6-0. This dominant win helped Nadal lift his 14th French Open title, breaking his own record and creating history once again.

via Reuters

Before the women's final, Gauff was touted to be a future champion. But Iga Swiatek had other ideas as she cantered to a victory in the final against the American teenage sensation. Their match ended with a score of 6-1, 6-3 and helped her maintain her place at the top of the WTA rankings. However, Gauff benefitted from the final, too, as it added enough points for her to jump to number 4 by October 2022.

Most titles won by a player at the Roland Garros

Rafael Nadal holds the record number of titles at the French Open, including the time before the Open Era. Out of the 18 French Opens he has played, the Spaniard has won it 14 times. Along with the astounding trophy haul, Nadal also holds a record of an incredible 112 wins in Roland Garros, becoming the only player to have such an overwhelming win record in one Major. 

via Reuters

Although Nadal has a tendency to prevail on clay, his opponents do not go down without a fight. Some of his most memorable matches on clay have come against Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer and John Isner. Against Djokovic, Rafa looked at his best in 2014 and 2013. Their 2014 bout went up to five sets, and the final set saw one of his most intense performances, which saw 16 games being played. The 2013 match was the final and had Djoker as the favorite in the first set. But Nadal found his rhythm in the second set and won the tournament.

Nadal won against Federer in 2006 in four sets of 1-6, 6-1, 6-4, 7-6. Federer's astounding win in the first set, along with his fiery demeanor in the fourth set, made people believe that Nadal's streak would end. However, the Spaniard gave a glimpse of his prowess in the red dirt of Paris.

Watch this story - Serena Williams Ex-coach Patrick Mouratoglou Launches Fresh Controversy as He Irks Rafael Nadal Fans With a Biased Novak Djokovic Statement

All of his records at the clay major rightfully earned him the nickname 'The King of Clay'. But news of him competing in the tournament this year remains doubtful. So far, he has missed the entire clay season due to an injury. This would be a first as Nadal has never missed any French Opens in his career. His participation in the 2023 French Open is doubtful, and it looks like his appearance record might finally come to an end this year. 


Article continues below this ad

French Open Winners List (ATP) over the past 18 years

Rafael Nadal2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2022
Roger Federer2009
Stan Wawrinka2015
Novak Djokovic2016, 2021



Article continues below this ad

French Open Winners List (WTA) Over The Past 18 Years

Justine Henin-Hardenne2005, 2006, 2007                        
Ana Ivanovic2008
Svetlana Kuznetsova2009
Francesca Schiavone2010
Li Na2011
Maria Sharapova2012, 2014
Serena Williams2013, 2015
Garbine Muguruza2016
Jeļena Ostapenko2017
Simona Halep2018
Ashleigh Barty2019
Iga Swiatek2020, 2022
Barbora Krejčíková2021

French Open News Feed

Iga Swiatek Fans Turn Against Her ‘Damn Useless’ Psychologist as Alarming Beijing Open Exit Leads to Emergence of a Scapegoat

September 30, 2023

Break-Up Speculations Bite the Dust as Stefanos Tsitsipas’ Gorgeous Girlfriend Turns Emotional Over Boyfriend’s Endearing Message for Tennis

September 29, 2023

Coco Gauff’s Unparalleled Athleticism Leads to Steffi Graf Comparisons as Former British Tennis Player Dishes Out a Staggering Verdict for the American

September 29, 2023

Despite Acknowledging Coco Gauff’s ‘Beautiful Story’, Maria Sharapova Makes a Hard-Hitting Admission About the 19YO American’s Tennis Future

September 27, 2023

Moment of Uncontrolled Rage at Asian Games Triggers Shockwaves as 25YO South Korean Tennis Player Loses His Cool in Dramatic Fashion

September 26, 2023

As Harrowing Scenes of Two Devastating Tragedies Continue to Haunt the World, Novak Djokovic Sends Symbolic Tokens of Love Wishing for a Swift Resolution

September 24, 2023

Newest Victim of Roger Federer’s Persona Dishes Out ‘Extra Special’ Verdict for the Maestro as He Puts Behind Personal Bias for Idol Rafael Nadal at the Laver Cup

September 24, 2023

Desperately Hoping to End a ‘Vicious Cycle’, 23YO Canadian ATP Star Makes Brutally Honest Admission Ahead of Laver Cup

September 22, 2023

As ‘Little Bro’ Marks the Beginning of a New Chapter in Life, Coco Gauff Joins Her Mother in Celebrating His Latest Milestone with a Heartfelt Note

September 22, 2023

Despite Hailing Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal’s Undeniable Brilliance, Andy Murray Stands by Novak Djokovic as the Serbian’s Unparalleled Domination Continues

September 22, 2023