US Open

The final Grand Slam of the year, United States Open Tennis Championships takes place in New York City. The tournament is the modern version of the U.S. National Championship, which is the oldest tournament in tennis.

The tournament is administered by the United States Tennis Association (USTA) since 1978. Since then the tournament has been using DecoTurf cushion acrylic hard courts. The Arthur Ashe Stadium inside the complex tops in the list of largest tennis stadiums in the world and it has a capacity of seating 23,771 spectators.

At US Open, when the score of the final set reaches 6-6 (fifth set in ATP and third set in WTA), the seven-point tiebreaker comes in to play.

US Open Prize Money

The total prize money for US Open is $57 million, which makes it the richest Grand Slam tennis tournament in history.  The men’s and women’s singles champion will receive a check of $3.85 million and the runners-up will collect a cheque of $1.9 million.

The champions of the US Open tennis tournament are given 2000 ranking points and the ATP finalists collect 1200 ranking points and whereas their WTA counterparts are awarded 1300 points.

US Open Winners List (ATP) Over The Past 15 Years:

Roger Federer 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008
Juan Martin Del Potro 2009
Rafael Nadal 2010, 2013, 2017, 2019
Novak Djokovic 2011, 2015, 2018
Andy Murray 2012
Marin Cilic 2014
Stan Wawrinka 2016
Dominic Thiem 2020

US Open Winners List (WTA) Over The Past 15 Years:

Svetlana Kuznetsova

2004, 2006, 2007, 2008

Kim Clijsters

2005, 2009, 2010

Maria Sharapova


Justine Henin

2003, 2007

Serena Williams

1999, 2002, 2008, 2012, 2013, 2014

Sam Stosur


Flavia Pennetta


Angelique Kerber


Sloane Stephans


Naomi Osaka

2018, 2020

Bianca Andreescu


Where is US Open held?

As usual, the tournament will be held at Flushing Meadows, also this year Cincinnati Open will be held in the same venue right before the commencement of US Open.

The Big Apple City’s major tournament takes place at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center is a stadium complex within Flushing Meadows–Corona, Park in Queens, New York, USA.

US Open Venue:

The stadium was initially named USTA National Tennis Center, and in 2006 it was renamed to honor the 12-time Grand Slam champion and one of the most influential sportspersons, Billie Jean King.

Which channels are showing US Open?

Global – Tennis TV

United States – ESPN, ESPN2, ESPN+

Australia – ESPN International

United Kingdom – Amazon Prime Video

Europe – Eurosport

Canada – RDS (French) & TSN (English)

Pan-Asia region – Fox Sports

Indian Subcontinent – Star Sports Select

Southern Africa – SuperSport