Houston Rockets

Houston Rockets 2021: News, Schedule, Roster, Score, Injury Report

The Houston Rockets owned by Tilman Fertitta are part of the NBA's Southwest Division in the Western Conference. Their base is at the city's Toyota Center where they moved ahead of the 2003 season. 

The team was established as an expansion team in 1967. They were originally based in San Diego and competed in the NBA as the San Diego Rockets. They won just 15 games in their debut season. However, in a remarkable turnaround, they made the Playoffs in the next year. 


Article continues below this ad

In 1971, they moved to Houston. Here, the team did not finish with a winning record until the 1976-77 season. The Houston Rockets reached the Eastern Conference Finals that year. 

In 1981, the Houston Rockets became only the second team to reach the NBA Finals with a losing record. As of this season, only the Houston Rockets and the Minneapolis Lakers (1954-1955) have made it to the Playoffs with a losing record. 

In 1995, the Houston Rockets were seeded six in the Playoffs and became the lowest seed to lift the Larry O'Brien Championship Trophy. Four players have claimed the NBA MVP award while wearing the Houston Rockets Colors. They are Moses Malone (1979, 1982), Hakeem Olajuwon (1984), and James Harden (2018). 

The team is currently thriving under the leadership of Daryl Morey, who serves as the general manager. Head coach Mike D'Antoni parted ways with the Rockets after four years (2016-20) and the team is now looking to fill in his spot.

Achievements and History


Article continues below this ad







General Manager 

Daryl Morey

Head Coach 



Toyota Center

Championships (2)


Conference Titles (4)

(1981, 1986, 1994, 1995)

Division Titles (8)

(1977, 1986, 1993, 1994, 2015, 2018, 2019, 2020)



Houston Rockets 2021 Roster



Birth Date

8Jae'Sean TateSF6-4230October 28, 1995
0Sterling BrownSG6-5219February 10, 1995
17P.J. TuckerPF6-5245May 5, 1985
13James HardenSG6-5220August 26, 1989
35Christian WoodC6-10214September 27, 1995
2David NwabaSF6-5219January 14, 1993
1John WallPG6-3210September 6, 1990
10Eric GordonSG6-3215December 25, 1988
15DeMarcus CousinsC6-10270August 13, 1990
5Bruno CabocloPF6-9218September 21, 1995
4Danuel HouseSF6-6220June 7, 1993
33Brodric Thomas  (TW)SG6-5185January 28, 1997
16Ben McLemoreSG6-3195February 11, 1993
6Kenyon Martin Jr.SF6-6215January 6, 2001
9Mason Jones  (TW)SG6-4200July 21, 1998
Chris ClemonsSG5-9180July 23, 1997


Article continues below this ad