Share this article

Cincinnati Bengals


What Americans are reading

Cincinnati Bengals 2022: News, Schedule, Roster, Score, Injury Report

The Cincinnati Bengals entered professional football ahead of the 1968 AFL season. This helped the AFL meet the criteria of the historic AFL-NFL merger of 1970 as The Bengals were the 10th team. Initially, the franchise hosted opposition football teams at the Nippert Stadium.

In 1970, the team moved its base and remained at the Riverfront Stadium for the better part of 3 decades. During their time in the NFL, Cincinnati Bengals featured as part of the AFC?s Central division.

Following the NFL?s last expansion in 2002, the Bengals moved to the AFC North division. They play alongside the Baltimore Ravens, Pittsburgh Steelers, and state rivals the Cleveland Browns.

The 2020 campaign was a marginal success as they finished off with a 4-11-1 record and finished 4th in the AFC North. This was an improvement from their 2-14 record 2019, but elimination from play-off contention came for the 5th consecutive year.

Owner Achievements

The Cincinnati Bengals are owned by Mike Brown, son of Founder/Owner and first Head Coach Paul Brown. Mike settled in at the helm of the Cincinnati Bengals in the 1991 NFL season and serves as the President and General Manager too.?

In 2008, Brown and the Bengals donated $250,000 to assist the Cincinnati Park Board in paying for Cincinnati Riverfront Park. In 2017, Brown and his family received the Pillar Award for Community Services' Kent Clapp CEO Leadership Award. The award recognizes a top executive for his or her passion for philanthropy and honors the late Kent Clapp.


The Bengals could not put an exclamation on the NFL or their division. Nevertheless, the franchise has tasted success, albeit sporadically. Cincinnati Bengals have won the AFC Central division 5 times in 32 years. Following the expansion, they claimed the AFC North title in 2005 to end a 15-year divisional drought.?

Further titles came in 2009, 2013, and 2015. However, none of these resulted in deep playoff runs akin to their AFC Championship wins for the 1981 and 1988 NFL seasons. Unfortunately, they fell in both Super Bowl appearances to the San Francisco 49ers.?


The Cincinnati Bengals have had a number of logos on their crest since their inception. Initially, in the AFC days, the franchise logo was one of a tiger running with a football as its helmet fell off.?

In their 3rd season, the Cincinnati Bengals logo featured a football helmet with the moniker 'Bengals' written on it in black.?

The signature identification of the Bengal tiger returned in the 80s as the franchise opted to switch things up. They changed the helmet grill to black, tweaked the angle, and adorned the helmet with black stripes.?

The stripe pattern changed in the 90s, and so did the grill. However, this too didn't last long as the Cincinnati Bengals had the face of a Bengal tiger as their logo from the 1997 to the 2003 NFL season.?

The Bengals' current logo has been the one in use for the longest period. Introduced ahead of the 2004 NFL season, the franchise still turns up for football games with a 'B' crest. This is an orange logo with black stripes that can signify the claws of the tiger.?

READ MORE- A Look at Joe Burrow?s College Football Career: From a Bench Warmer to Heisman Trophy Winner and Top Draft Pick

Andy Dalton era

From 2011 to 2015, the Cincinnati Bengals set a franchise record as they reached the NFL Playoffs in 5 consecutive seasons. Their previous best came with back-to-back postseason appearances in 1981 and 1982.

The streak coincided with the arrival of second-round pick Andy Dalton. ?Unfortunately, the franchise is yet to match their AFC Championship winning run.?

In 2020, the franchise won the top draft pick as they had the worst record in the 2019 NFL season. The side roped in LSU Tigers' Heisman Trophy winner Joe Burrow. Subsequently, the club parted ways with Andy Dalton to guarantee Burrow's spot as the starting quarterback.?

READ MORE-?Andy Dalton Let Go From the Cincinnati Bengals

2022 Sponsors

Fifth Third Bank, National Association announced a multi-year agreement to renew its sponsorship of the Cincinnati Bengals in October 2020. The partnership will include signage at Paul Brown Stadium, a new presenting sponsor of the Bengals mobile app. Moreover, there?s a discount at the online pro shop for Bengals banking customers, virtual fan experiences including contests on social media.

BlaCk OWned outerwear came in with a deal and campaign aims to unify the Cincinnati community through designs intended to create a healthy dialogue, represented by the partnership. The Bengals included Vonn Bell, Giovani Bernard, Tyler Boyd, Sam Hubbard, Khalid Kareem, C. J. Uzomah, and Shawn Williams.

Cincinnati Bengals 2022 Roster Foundation

Quarterbacks#8 Brandon Allen

#6 Jake Browning

#9 Joe Burrow

#7 Drew Plitt

Running Backs#25 Chris Evans

#28 Joe Mixon

#39 Jacques Patrick

#34 Samaje Perine

#32 Trayveon Williams

#27 Shermari Jones

#36 Elijah Holyfield

Wide Receivers#83 Tyler Boyd

#1 Ja'Marr Chase

#15 Jaivon Heiligh

#85 Tee Higgins

#16 Trenton Irwin

#18 Kwamie Lassiter II

#17 Stanley Morgan

#19 Kendric Pryor

#14 Jack Sorenson

#11 Trent Taylor

#80 Mike Thomas

#12 Pooka Williams Jr.

Tight Ends#86 Nick Eubanks

#88 Hayden Hurst

#81 Thaddeus Moss

#87 Justin Rigg

#89 Drew Sample

#82 Scotty Washington

#84 Mitchell Wilcox

Offensive Linemen#76 Devin Cochran

#71 La'el Collins

#75 Isaiah Prince

#70 D'Ante Smith

#67 Cordell Volson

#73 Jonah Williams

#60 Desmond Noel

#79 Jackson Carman

#65 Alex Cappa

#77 Hakeem Adeniji

Defensive Linemen#95 Zachary Carter

#72 Domenique Davis

#93 Jeffrey Gunter

#91 Trey Hendrickson

#92 B.J. Hill

#94 Sam Hubbard

#69 Raymond Johnson III

#90 Khalid Kareem

#58 Joseph Ossai

#98 D.J. Reader

#96 Cameron Sample

#99 Tyler Shelvin

#52 Noah Spence

#97 Tariqious Tisdale

#68 Josh Tupou

#56 Wyatt Hubert

Linebackers#49 Joe Bachie

#51 Markus Bailey

#59 Akeem Davis-Gaither

#50 Clarence Hicks

#44 Clay Johnston

#47 Keandre Jones

#57 Germaine Pratt

#45 Tegray Scales

#53 Carson Wells

#55 Logan Wilson

Defensive Backs#48 Cal Adomitis

#20 Eli Apple

#22 Chidobe Awuzie

#30 Jessie Bates

#24 Vonn Bell

#33 Tre Flowers

#42 Allan George

#21 Mike Hilton

#37 Delonte Hood

#38 Bookie Radley-Hiles

#29 Cam Taylor-Britt

#31 Michael Thomas

#40 Brandon Wilson

#43 Abu Daramy-Swaray

Special Teams#4 Drue Chrisman

#10 Kevin Huber

#2 Evan McPherson

Cincinnati Bengals 2022 Charity

The inability to host fans in 2020 came in as a huge benefit for local charities. Bengal fan cutouts at the designated end zones sections of the stadium raised $34, 000 for local charities. The cutouts remained in place till October when 6,000 fans were permitted back to Paul Brown for the Bengals? home game against the Jacksonville Jaguars.

Moreover, the Bengals thank their fans for their generosity and support for The Boys and Girls Club, Freestore Foodbank, National Underground Railroad Freedom Center, Salvation Army, TriHealth?s Good Samaritan Foundation, and the United Way of Greater Cincinnati.

Achievements and History

OwnerMike Brown
CEOMike Brown
Head CoachZac Taylor
General ManagerMike Brown
StadiumPaul Brown Stadium
LocationCincinnati, Ohio
SponsorsPapa John's, BlaCK OWned, Uber, Fifth Third bank
ChampionshipsLeague championships (0)

Conference championships (3)

AFC: 1981, 1988, 2021

Division championships (10)

AFC Central: 1970, 1972, 1981, 1988, 1990

AFC North: 2005, 2009, 2013, 2015, 2021

Official websiteCincinnati Bengals: