Share this article

Detroit Lions

Detroit Lions 2022: News, Schedule, Roster, Score, Injury Report

The club was originally founded in Portsmouth, Ohio, and enlisted in the NFL in 1930 going by the Portsmouth Spartans banner. 4 years later, in 1934, the team relocated to Detroit citing financial struggles. Furthermore, the franchise was renamed to the Lions with reference to the city’s MLB counterpart franchise going by the Tigers.


Article continues below this ad

The very next year, they enjoyed tremendous success as they went on to win 4 championship games between 1935 to 1957. However, their success hasn’t seen the same peak since then, as they have only won a single playoff game in 1992.

Additionally, they are the oldest NFL franchise to never appear in the Super Bowl. They also go down as the only team from the NFC to not appear for the same. This has long since been a talking point surrounding the franchise, considering their tenure in the league.

Heading through to Week 14 of the 2020 season, the Detroit Lions have accrued a record of 5-8 and are placed 4th in the NFC North. However, this is an improvement from their previous season record that topped out at 3-12-1. Moreover, the principal owner Martha Firestone Ford stepped down and passed on the ownership to her daughter Sheila Ford Hamp on June 23rd, 2020.


The classic blue prancing Lion logo was brought into the fold from the 1961 season but wouldn’t be made the primary logo till 1970. The logo has seen minor reiterations, chiefly stemming from a stylistic change to the outline. The Honolulu blue outline was swapped for a black outline after 2002, and it ran until 2008.

The present logo of the Detroit Lions has been active since February 1st, 2017, and underwent a minor tweak from the previous design that ran from 2009 to 2016. Chiefly, the difference was the change in the color of the outline, which went from black to metallic silver.

Detroit Lions Owner Achievements

Sheila Ford Hamp is a descendant of both Ford and Firestone family fortunes, and she became the principal owner in June 2020 when her mother Martha Firestone Ford stepped down. Prior to her role as the principal owner and chairperson, Sheila Hamp served as the vice chairperson of the Detroit Lions since 2014.

Additionally, she serves on the NFL’s Super Bowl and Major Events committee alongside many key figures in the league. Following a 4-7 start to the 2020 season under her ownership, Sheila would fire General Manager Bob Quinn and Head Coach Matt Patricia.

Detroit Lions 2022 Sponsors

A marquee sponsor out of Detroit came in the form of Quick Lane Tire and auto center, which provides routine service and up-keep maintenance for its customers. Additionally, they have had successful tie-ups with Quicken Loans as well as Windsor Family Credit Union. Additionally, the Detroit Lions have also partnered up with Coppercraft Distillery and they offered branded products at 6 bar locations within the parameters of Ford Field.

BetMGM has also joined up with the Lions and will be the first official sports betting partner for the franchise. Not to mention, the Detroit Lions have a partnership with Humanetics who serve as the presenting sponsor for the club. Events are put together to recognize and honor active duty and former service members.

Detroit Lions 2022 Roster Foundation

Quarterbacks#10 David Blough

#12 Tim Boyle

#16 Jared Goff

Running Backs#35 Godwin Igwebuike

#42 Justin Jackson

#28 Jermar Jefferson

#46 Craig Reynolds

#32 D'Andre Swift

#30 Jamaal Williams

Wide Receivers#15 Maurice Alexander

#17 Trinity Benson

#87 Quintez Cephus

#4 DJ Chark

#85 Tom Kennedy

#83 Kalil Pimpleton

#11 Kalif Raymond

#8 Josh Reynolds

#14 Amon-Ra St. Brown

Tight Ends#48 Derrick Deese Jr.

#13 Devin Funchess

#88 T.J. Hockenson

#82 James Mitchell

#89 Brock Wright

#84 Shane Zylstra

Offensive Linemen#63 Evan Brown

#77 Frank Ragnow

#73 Jonah Jackson

#75 Kevin Jarvis

#78 Tommy Kraemer

#71 Logan Stenberg

#72 Halapoulivaati Vaitai

#76 Kendall Lamm

#68 Taylor Decker

#65 Obinna Eze

#67 Matt Nelson

#66 Darrin Paulo

#58 Penei Sewell

#70 Dan Skipper

Defensive Linemen#94 Eric Banks

#90 Michael Brockers

#2 Austin Bryant

#98 Isaiah Buggs

#79 John Cominsky

#96 Jashon Cornell

#53 Charles Harris

#92 Bruce Hector

#97 Aidan Hutchinson

#54 Alim McNeill

#91 Levi Onwuzurike

#62 Demetrius Taylor

Linebackers#34 Alex Anzalone

#55 Derrick Barnes

#49 Chris Board

#40 Jarrad Davis

#59 James Houston

#99 Julian Okwara

#57 Anthony Pittman

#44 Malcolm Rodriguez

#51 Josh Woods

Defensive Backs#35 Cedric Boswell

#29 Mark Gilbert

#25 Will Harris

#23 Mike Hughes

#36 Chase Lucas

#1 Jeff Okudah

#24 Amani Oruwariye

#41 AJ Parker

#27 Bobby Price

#19 Saivion Smith

#5 DeShon Elliott

#33 JuJu Hughes

#31 Kerby Joseph

#26 Ifeatu Melifonwu

#38 C.J. Moore

#21 Tracy Walker III

Special Teams#6 Riley Patterson

#19 Austin Seibert

#47 Scott Daly

#3 Jack Fox


Article continues below this ad

2022 Charity

Throughout the year, the Detroit Lions work to raise awareness and funding for local non-profit organizations that prioritize the critical needs of the community. There is a significant emphasis that is placed on youth development, access, and opportunity to initiatives in Detroit. $1.6 million in contributions were made to non-profit organizations in 2019.

Moreover, almost 60 players participated in community programs that were held in 2019 and 1325 community guests were hosted at the training camp. Not to mention, the youth initiatives saw a positive turnout with 1817 youth participating in summer football camps that were organized last year alone.


Article continues below this ad

History and Achievements

OwnerSheila Ford Hamp
CEORod Wood
Head CoachDan Campbell
General ManagerBrad Holmes
StadiumFord Field
LocationDetroit, Michigan
SponsorsQuick Lane, BetMGM, Humanetics, Coppercraft Distillery, Quicken Loans
ChampionshipsLeague championships (4)

NFL Championships (pre AFL-NFL merger)- 4

1935, 1952, 1953, 1957

Conference championships (4)

NFL National: 1952

NFL Western: 1953, 1954, 1957

Division championships (4)

NFL Western: 1935

NFC Central: 1983, 1991, 1993

Official WebsiteDetroit Lions-