San Francisco 49ers

San Francisco 49ers: News, Schedule, Roster, Score, Injury Report

The San Francisco 49ers are the twelfth most valuable team in the world, as per Forbes. The franchisee entered professional football in 1946 as part of the AAFC, and with time they were absorbed into the NFL as the leagues merged.

From 1951 to 1953, the 49ers played with a backline in the offense that got dubbed Million Dollar Backfield. Unfortunately, this didn’t translate into success for the team who earned a maiden divisional title only three seasons after one of the four moved on to a new team.

The 49ers remained loyal to the city and after years of striving to make it to the big time, they finally put together a dynasty in the 1980s. It began when the franchise made Joe Montana their second draft pick at the 1979 NFL draft. Later they added Ronnie Lott and Steve Young.

Following their wave of success in the 80s and the early 90s, ‘The Red and Gold’ faded away for nearly two decades. At present they have an exiting team and one of the most coveted individuals as head coach.

Under Kyle Shanahan, ‘The Niners’ with quarterback Jimmy Garoppolo plays an entertaining brand of football and claimed the 2019 NFC Championship.

They were on the cusp of Super Bowl glory and dominated the Kansas City Chiefs only to wilt away in the dying stages of the game. They play in the NFC alongside the Seattle Seahawks, Arizona Cardinals, and Los Angeles Rams.


The DeBartolo family, notably Denise DeBartolo York, owns the San Francisco 49ers. She took over the team after her brother Edward DeBartolo Jr encountered legal troubles and was barred from team activities.

The family has controlled the interest of the team for 43 years and saw instant success with five Super Bowl titles coming within the first 17 years of their takeover.

Under Denise DeBartolo, the franchise moved from Candlestick Park to an exclusive football arena, The Levi’s Stadium in 2014.

San Francisco 49ers Achievements

The 49ers are one of seven NFL teams to defend a Super Bowl. They achieved the feat in the 1989 NFL season when they claimed the fourth Vincent Lombardi Trophy to follow up their win in 1988. Four of the side’s five NFL Championship wins came during the time legendary NFL quarterback Joe Montana was part of the side.

The San Francisco 49ers have won their conference championship seven times and have claimed the divisional title twenty times.

The side has made it to the playoffs 27 times in 75 seasons. Furthermore, with seven Super Bowl appearances, they are only behind the New England Patriots, Dallas Cowboys, and Pittsburgh Steelers. With five wins, they are tied with Dallas Cowboys and are behind only the New England Patriots.

Three San Francisco 49ers stars have claimed the MVP award. These are John Brodie (1970), Joe Montana (1988-89), and Steve Young (1992, 1994)

28 people associated with the San Francisco 49ers are enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

San Francisco 49ers Logo

The San Francisco 49ers have had two distinct logos during their time in professional football.

Initially, their logo depicted a miner that drew inspiration from the team name “49ers” that paid tribute to the city’s Gold Rush nearly a century ago.

The miner is wearing red and white chequered trousers and a red-colored shirt. He is jumping and firing a pistol into the ground. The other hand to has a gun which is pointing skywards as his hat is falling off his head.

Ahead of the 1968 NFL season, the San Francisco 49ers adopted their modern logo. It featured the letters ‘S’ & ‘F’ in white, a red oval surrounded by a black border.

Their modern logo has remained the same for over 52 NFL seasons. The designers have made minor tweaks to freshen things up for the fans and keep with the times.

The alphabets became prominent ahead of the 1996 NFL season and a gold stripe was added within the black border. The red color became a tad maroonish.

In 2009, the team hierarchy approved a logo where the maroon became a lighter color, and the letters S and F seemed a tad brighter than previous versions of the logo.

San Francisco 49ers’ colors of white, red, and gold have been predominant and continue to feature on the franchise’s uniforms too.

San Francisco 49ers records

The Red and Gold hold many NFL records in their storied tenure in the sport.

The San Francisco 49ers have scored the most points scored in a single Super Bowl game. They achieved the milestone at Super Bowl XXIV when they put 55 points past the Denver Broncos.

En route to their third and fourth Super Bowl win, the franchise won 18 straight away games (1988-90). In 2011, the franchise through kicker David Akers scored 44/52 field goals attempted, which is an NFL record.

San Francisco 49ers 2020 Roster

The San Francisco 49ers have a 53-player roster for the 2020 NFL season. This comprises three quarterbacks, four running backs, six wide receivers, four tight ends, nine offensive linemen, nine defensive linemen, five linebackers, defensive backs, and special team players.

Quarterbacks 3 C. J. Beathard

10 Jimmy Garoppolo

4 Nick Mullens

Running Backs 44 Kyle Juszczyk FB

28 Jerick McKinnon

31 Raheem Mostert

30 Jeff Wilson

Wide Receivers 11 Brandon Aiyuk

84 Kendrick Bourne

14 Mohamed Sanu

18 Dante Pettis

19 Deebo Samuel

15 Trent Taylor

Tight Ends 82 Ross Dwelley

88 Daniel Helm

85 George Kittle

89 Charlie Woerner

Offensive linemen 66 Tom Compton G

75 Laken Tomlinson G

63 Ben Garland C

50 Hroniss Grasu C

69 Mike McGlinchey T

68 Colton McKivitz T

67 Justin Skule T

71 Trent Williams T

60 Daniel Brunskill T

Defensive linemen 94 Ezekiel Ansah DE

91 Arik Armstead DE

55 Dee Ford DE

95 Kentavius Street DE

92 Kerry Hyder DE

96 Dion Jordan DE

93 D. J. Jones DT

99 Javon Kinlaw DT

90 Kevin Givens DT

linebackers 56 Kwon Alexander OLB

45 Demetrius Flannigan-Fowles OLB

57 Dre Greenlaw OLB

54 Fred Warner MLB

51 Azeez Al-Shaair MLB

Defensive backs 36 Marcell Harris S

29 Jaquiski Tartt SS

33 Tarvarius Moore FS

20 Jimmie Ward FS

22 Jason Verrett CB

41 Emmanuel Moseley CB

35 Ken Webster CB

27 Dontae Johnson CB

24 K’Waun Williams CB

23 Ahkello Witherspoon CB

Special teams 9 Robbie Gould K

46 Taybor Pepper LS

6 Mitch Wishnowsky P

Achievements and History

Founded 1946
President Al Guido
Conference NFC
Division NFC West
Head Coach Kyle Shanahan
Location/Stadium Levi’s Stadium
Championships Conference

NFC: 1981, 1984, 1988, 1989, 1994, 2012, 2019


NFC West: 1970, 1971, 1972, 1981, 1983, 1984, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1997, 2002, 2011, 2012, 2019

Super Bowl 5

1981 (XVI), 1984 (XIX), 1988 (XXIII), 1989 (XXIV), 1994 (XXIX)

Official website San Francisco 49ers
Mascot Sourdough Sam

Scroll for the latest news, reports, and rumors about the San Francisco 49ers