Minnesota Vikings

Minnesota Vikings: News, Schedule, Roster, Score, Injury Report

The Minnesota Vikings are one of the few NFL teams to be named after a state rather than the city. The other teams to share this unique trait are the Arizona Cardinals, the Tennessee Titans, and the Carolina Panthers.

The term Vikings pays tribute to the state’s Scandinavian heritage. As a result of the Vikings’ entry into professional football, the state received a team after three decades. The earlier teams were the Minneapolis Marines and the Minneapolis Red Jacket. 

Since joining the NFL, they have claimed three wins in a season in all but one campaign (1962). This streak is active from the 1963 NFL season. 

Their last Super Bowl appearance came for the 1976 season. The team came close to glory for the 1998 season and cobbled a historic 15-1 season. However, luck was just not on their side as kicker Gary Anderson missed his first field goal for the season in the NFC finale

As a result, they did not put the tie to rest and the Arizona Cardinals couldn’t have received a bigger morale booster. 

The Minnesota Vikings finished the 2019 NFL season in second place with a 10-6 record. The team will seek to maintain the form that took them to the playoffs and helped them defeat fellow NFC North contenders, i.e. Chicago Bears, Green Bay Packers, and Detroit Lions. 

The Minnesota Vikings quarterback is eight-season veteran Kirk Cousins, and their head coach is Mike Zimmer. The Vikes’ jersey colors are purple and gold and their fight song ‘Skol Vikings’ is popular and features at every single one of their home games.  

Minnesota Vikings Owner

The Wilf family, namely Zigi, Mark, and Leonard function as owners of the Minnesota Vikings. They purchased the team for $600 million ahead of the 2005 NFL season. 

Under their new owners, the Vikings have switched home fields twice. They vacated the Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome and moved to the TCF Bank Stadium in 2014 and the U.S. Bank Stadium in 2016. 

Minnesota Vikings Achievements

The Vikings won the 1969 NFL Championship by beating the Cleveland Browns 27-7. However, they suffered heartbreak on the biggest stage of all as the Kansas City Chiefs claimed a dominant victory in Super Bowl IV.

‘The Purple and Gold’ made it to the Super Bowl three times in four seasons between 1973 to 1976. They achieved this on the back of their NFC championship wins. Unfortunately, they fell at the final hurdle each time. 

Despite their lack of post-season success, the Vikings have won their division 20 times. Furthermore, they have made it past the regular season a whopping 30 times in 60 completed NFL seasons. 

This is a testament to ‘The Vikes’ consistency which no doubt leads fans to keep the faith as they know that one day they will go all the way and claim the cherished Vincent Lombardi Trophy. 

Three Minnesota Vikings players have been awarded the regular season NFL MVP. They are Alan Page (1971), Fran Tarkenton (1975), and Adrian Peterson (2012)

Minnesota Vikings Logo

The Minnesota Vikings have had three logos in their tenure in professional football. In the original version, the team opted for a Viking looking to the right. The character had a yellow hat and yellow hair with a white face and mustache. 

Five seasons later, the Vikings changed their logo design. Here, the Viking is looking to the left and white horns. The braid is prominent and his mustache has a yellow influx. An addition in elements here is a purple headband. 

Ahead of the 2013 NFL season, the franchise changed its logo design once more. The character in the logo is looking straight rather than up. The black marks on the bottom of his horns have disappeared and the purple strip has become more prominent. 

Minnesota Vikings 2020 Roster

The Minnesota Vikings have a 53-player roster for the 2020 NFL season. This comprises two quarterbacks, five running backs, seven wide receivers, three tight ends, nine offensive linemen, ten defensive linemen, five linebackers, nine defensive backs, and three special teams players. 

Quarterbacks 8 Kirk Cousins

 4 Sean Mannion

Running Backs 31 Ameer Abdullah

23 Mike Boone

33 Dalvin Cook

30 C. J. Ham FB

25 Alexander Mattison

Wide Receivers 12 Chad Beebe

85 Dan Chisena

18 Justin Jefferson

81 Bisi Johnson

17 K. J. Osborn RS

11 Tajae Sharpe

19 Adam Thielen

Tight Ends 83 Tyler Conklin

82 Kyle Rudolph

84 Irv Smith Jr.

Offensive linemen 56 Garrett Bradbury C

72 Ezra Cleveland T

78 Dakota Dozier G

69 Rashod Hill T

61 Brett Jones C

75 Brian O’Neill T

71 Riley Reiff T

73 Dru Samia G

74 Oli Udoh T

Defensive linemen 90 Jalyn Holmes DE

94 Jaleel Johnson DT

92 James Lynch DT

51 Hercules Mata’afa DT

91 Yannick Ngakoue DE

95 Ifeadi Odenigbo DE

93 Shamar Stephen DT

96 Armon Watts DT

98 D. J. Wonnum DE

52 Eddie Yarbrough DE

linebackers 57 Ryan Connelly OLB

40 Todd Davis MLB

54 Eric Kendricks MLB

47 Hardy Nickerson Jr. OLB

50 Eric Wilson OLB

Defensive backs 29 Kris Boyd CB

27 Cameron Dantzler CB

20 Jeff Gladney CB

38 Harrison Hand CB

41 Anthony Harris FS

24 Holton Hill CB

21 Mike Hughes CB

44 Josh Metellus S

22 Harrison Smith SS

Special teams 5 Dan Bailey K

 2 Britton Colquitt P

58 Austin Cutting LS

Achievements and History

Founded 1960
President Mark Wilf
Conference NFC
Division NFC North
Head Coach Mike Zimmer
Location/Stadium U.S. Bank Stadium, Minneapolis
Championships Conference (4)

NFL Western: 1969

NFC: 1973, 1974, 1976

Division championships (20)

NFL Central: 1968, 1969

NFC Central: 1970, 1971, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1980, 1989, 1992, 1994, 1998, 2000

NFC North: 2008, 2009, 2015, 2017

Super Bowl N/A
Official website Minnesota Vikings
Mascot Viktor the Viking