New York Giants

New York Giants: News, Schedule, Roster, Score, Injury Report

The New York Giants are the oldest professional football team from the New York-New Jersey region. They shared a name with the baseball team, New York Giants for 32 seasons. Following the Baseball Giants’ move to the west coast, the New York Giants became the only team with the name in the region.

The franchise achieved instant success and claimed the NFL championship in its third season. In the 1958 season, the New York Giants played their part in what is dubbed as ‘The Greatest Game Ever Played’. They claimed the NFL Eastern Championship and were part of the first-ever season-ending game that entered overtime.

After 1964, the franchise spent 18 years without being able to reach the playoffs. During this time, The Giants moved out of New York in favor of a football field in New Jersey ahead of the 1976 NFL season. Their time away molded them and they made it to the playoffs consistently throughout the 80s.

In 1986, the team finished with the NFL’s top prize for the first time in 30 seasons. They achieved the honor under Bill Parcells. The New York Giants had a staunch defensive unit that got branded ‘Big Blue Wrecking Crew’.

This season will see quarterback Daniel Jones don the hat of starting quarterback after the retirement of longtime New York Giants quarterback Eli Manning. The New York Giants finished last season at rock bottom of their division.

They will have their work cut out against formidable NFC East rivals i.e. Dallas Cowboys, Philadelphia Eagles, and Washington Football Team.


John Mara and Steve Tisch serve as co-owners of the New York Giants. Mara served as COO till the 2005 NFL season. He is the grandson of Giants’ founder Tim Mara.

The previous owner, Wellington Mara, sold half the team to the Tisch family in 1991. As a result, Steve Tisch serves as co-owner.

The Mara-Tisch duo holds important positions in the franchise, too. Tisch serves as chairman while Mara serves as the New York Giants President. It is under their tenure that the team left the Giants Stadium and moved to the MetLife Stadium.

New York Giants Achievements

The New York Giants are one of the strongest teams in professional football based on their success. They know what it takes to rise to the top and have won eight season-ending championships. Four of these are Super Bowl titles. They are the only franchise to hold an unbeaten record against the New England Patriots in the Super Bowl.

The New York Giants have emerged as the top team in their conference on eleven occasions. Furthermore, the ‘Big Blue’ has won its divisional title 16 times. However, they haven’t tasted success ever since their astounding run to the Vincent Lombardi Trophy for the 2011 NFL season.

The franchise has made it to the playoff 33 times, with only one of these coming since their latest Super Bowl triumph in 2012.

Only Y. A. Tittle (1963) and Lawrence Taylor (1986) have claimed the NFL regular season MVP as part of the New York Giants.

New York Giants Logo

The New York Giants have sported a variety of logos during their 90+ years in the ranks of professional football. Their 1945 logo features the name they used to distinguish themselves from the baseball side.

It displays the New York skyline with a quarterback positioned as though he is going to throw the ball. The orange background is striking.

Five seasons later, they switched from an oval to a circle. The quarterback is clad in the white and blue colors that form the Giants’ uniforms, even in 2020. A red background helps the jersey colors standout.

In 1956, the New York Giants played at the home of the Yankees. To symbolize the move, they showed a quarterback towering over the famed baseball arena. The logo has a blue tone.

In 1960, the franchise went for a simple logo with the letters NY stenciled in dark blue. The design lasted for 14 NFL seasons before the franchise opted for a glitzy logo with the white tracing of the letter ‘N’ and ‘Y’ for the 1975 NFL season.

For the next 23 NFL campaigns, the New York Giants spelled out their team name in blue with a bright red outline.

At the turn of the millennium, the franchise changed things around once more. They dug up their logo from the 1960 to 1974 NFL season. In this version, the franchise added a red outline of the initials of the city they are named after and darkened the blue font.

New York Giants 2020 Roster

The New York Giants have a 53-player roster for the 2020 NFL season. This comprises two quarterbacks, four running backs, four wide receivers, three tight ends, nine offensive linemen, six defensive linemen, ten linebackers, twelve defensive backs, and three special teams players.

Quarterbacks 8 Daniel Jones

12 Colt McCoy

Running Backs 31 Devonta Freeman

22 Wayne Gallman

33 Dion Lewis

39 Elijhaa Penny FB

Wide Receivers 18 C. J. Board

19 Damion Ratley

86 Darius Slayton

15 Golden Tate

Tight Ends 88 Evan Engram

82 Kaden Smith

85 Levine Toilolo

Offensive linemen 72 Jackson Barton T

75 Cameron Fleming T

65 Nick Gates C

71 Will Hernandez G

66 Shane Lemieux G

74 Matt Peart T

77 Spencer Pulley C

78 Andrew Thomas T

70 Kevin Zeitler G

Defensive linemen 95 B. J. Hill DE

98 Austin Johnson NT

97 Dexter Lawrence DE

90 R. J. McIntosh DE

94 Dalvin Tomlinson NT

99 Leonard Williams DE

Linebackers 47 Cam Brown OLB

45 T. J. Brunson ILB

59 Lorenzo Carter OLB

49 Carter Coughlin OLB

48 Tae Crowder ILB

52 Devante Downs ILB

51 Kyler Fackrell OLB

44 Markus Golden OLB

54 Blake Martinez ILB

53 Oshane Ximines OLB

Defensive backs 25 Corey Ballentine CB

24 James Bradberry CB

36 Sean Chandler SS

34 Adrian Colbert FS

43 Nate Ebner SS

45 Madre Harper CB

30 Darnay Holmes CB

37 Ryan Lewis CB

20 Julian Love FS

21 Jabrill Peppers SS

23 Logan Ryan FS

27 Isaac Yiadom CB

Special teams 9 Riley Dixon P

5 Graham Gano K

58 Casey Kreiter LS

New York Giants Achievements and History

Founded 1925
President John Mara
Conference NFC
Division NFC East
Head Coach Joe Judge
Location/Stadium MetLife Stadium
Championships Conference (11)

NFL Eastern: 1956, 1958, 1959, 1961, 1962, 1963

NFC: 1986, 1990, 2000, 2007, 2011

Divisional (16)

NFL Eastern: 1933, 1934, 1935, 1938, 1939, 1941, 1944, 1946

NFC East: 1986, 1989, 1990, 1997, 2000, 2005, 2008, 2011

Super Bowl NFL Championships (4)

1927, 1934, 1938, 1956

Super Bowl (4)

1986 (XXI), 1990 (XXV), 2007 (XLII), 2011 (XLVI)

Official website New York Giants
Mascot N/A