Golden State Warriors

Golden State Warriors 2022: News, Schedule, Roster, Score, Injury Report

The Golden State Warriors basketball team is owned by Joseph Lacob. They play in the NBA's Western Conference and are part of the Pacific Division alongside Los Angeles Lakers, LA Clippers, Sacramento Kings, and Phoenix Suns. 

The current General Manager of the Warriors is Bob Myers, while Rick Welts serves as the team's president.


The team was an original member of the league. They were founded in Philadelphia as the Philadelphia Warriors. They claimed the inaugural BAA Championship in 1947.

Later they claimed their second Championship in 1956. However, it was the first under the NBA. Six years later, the team moved East to San Francisco and adopted the name San Francisco Warriors.

They adopted their current name of Golden State Warriors before the 1971-72 season. In keeping with the team’s intention to represent that entire state, they played their home games across 2 different cities. i.e. San Diego and Oakland. Four years later, they clinched their first title since their relocation and swept the Washington Bullets in the final. 

They were largely absent from the 80s, but made a comeback at the start of the 2010s. 

However, the team did have its moments in those lean years. Most notable was point guard Sleepy Floyd's 29 point quarter against the 'Showtime' Los Angeles Lakers in the 1987 playoff semifinals. As of 2020, it still is the record for most points scored by a player in a playoff quarter. 

In 2007, the Golden State Warriors became the first eight-seed to eliminate a top-seeded team in the playoffs. In 2021-22, the side has recovered from a two-year slump, and is gunning for the title again.

Read More: Stephen Curry: Everything There is to Know About His Wife, Children and Family


The Golden State Warriors' fortunes changed in 2014. They appointed Steve Kerr as the head coach and reached 5 consecutive finals. They won their first Championship in 40 years in 2015. The team followed it up with Championships in 2017, and 2018. Their 2016 loss was the first time a team lost the NBA finals after taking a 3-1 lead. 

Jan 9, 2022; San Francisco, California, USA; Golden State Warriors guard Klay Thompson (11) gets a congratulatory handshake from teammate Stephen Curry (30) after making a basket against the Cleveland Cavaliers during the first quarter at Chase Center. Mandatory Credit: D. Ross Cameron-USA TODAY Sports


Wilt Chamberlain (1960) and Stephen Curry (2015, 2016) are the only players to win the regular-season MVP Award while playing for the Golden State Warriors. 

Read More: Klay Thompson’s Family| All You Need to Know about his Mother, Father, Brothers and Girlfriend

Achievements and History


Article continues below this ad






Rick Welts

General Manager 

Bob Myers

Head Coach 

Steve Kerr


Chase Center

Championships (6)

(1947, 1956, 1975, 2015, 2017, 2018)
Conference Titles (11)

Eastern (3): (1947, 1948, 1956)

Western (8): (1964, 1967, 1975, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019)

Division Titles (7)

(1975, 1976, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019)

Golden State Warriors 2021-22 Roster



Birth Date

30Stephen CurryPG6-3185March 14, 1988
22Andrew WigginsPF6-7197February 23, 1995
8Nemanja BjelicaPF6-10235May 9, 1988
33James WisemanC7-0240March 31, 2001
20Gary Payton IIG6-3195December 1, 1992
1Damion LeeSG6-5210October 21, 1992
9Andre IguodalaSF6-6215January 28, 1984
15Jonathan KumingaF6-8210October 6, 2002
5Kevon LooneyC6-9222February 6, 1996
2Chris ChiozzaPG5-11175November 21, 1995
3Jordan PooleSG6-4194June 19, 1999
23Draymond GreenPF6-6230March 4, 1990
95Juan Toscano-Anderson  (TW)SG6-6209April 10, 1993
4Moses MoodySG6-6205May 31, 2002
32Otto PorterSF6-8228June 3, 1993
11Klay ThompsonSG6-6215February 8, 1990
15Quinndary WeatherspoonSG6-3205September 10, 1996


Article continues below this ad