Denver Nuggets

Denver Nuggets 2021: News, Schedule, Roster, Score, Injury Report

The Denver Nuggets have a long history of playing in professional basketball leagues. They competed in the Basketball Association of America (BAA) and were a part of the inaugural edition of the 1949-50 NBA season. Denver now competes in the league as a part of the Northwest Division in the Western Conference.


The Nuggets played only a single season in the NBA and then folded before being revived in the ABA championship. They were established as the Denver Larks and later changed their name to Rockets. In 1976, Denver moved to the NBA after the merger with ABA took place. However, they were renamed as Nuggets a couple of years before entering the NBA.

Denver is also the only team out of the four ABA franchises to have never made it to the NBA finals, with the other teams being the San Antonio Spurs, Indiana Pacers, and New York Nets.

After several years of rebranding their logo, the Nuggets unveiled their latest one in 2018.

It features a pair of gold pickaxes with a mountain peak between them at the top, and a white-gold basketball at the bottom.

Who owns the Nuggets and where is their home arena?

The Nuggets are currently owned by Ann Walton Kroenke, whose value is estimated at $8.7 billion by Forbes. Besides the Nuggets, she also owns the Colorado Avalanche in the NHL. Ann Walton is the daughter of the late Bud Walton, who is the co-founder of retail giant Walmart.

The Nuggets currently play their home games at the Pepsi Center in Colorado. They previously hosted opponents at the McNichols Arena, which was demolished in 2000 after the Nuggets relocated to the Pepsi Center.

The Nuggets’ current general manager is Calvin Booth, while Ann Kroenke’s spouse Josh Kroenke is the president of the franchise.

A brief look into the outstanding players through the years

The Nuggets took off right after entering the league, finding tremendous success in the 80s. Though the team never made it to the NBA finals, they were led by two terrific scorers in Alex English and German forward Kiki Vandeweghe.

However, the team fell into a slump after English, and Kiki left, but shortly picked up defensive fortress Dikembe Mutombo in the 1991 NBA Draft. Though Mutombo was regarded as the best in the business during his time, he was unable to guide them past the conference semi-finals.

Fast forward to the 2000s, and the Nuggets yet again picked up a future Hall of Famer in the NBA draft. They used their third pick to select Carmelo Anthony, who found Denver as the perfect place to groom himself for the intensity of the league.

Now, the team is thriving under the dynamic pairing of Jamal Murray and Nikola Jokic. The Nuggets have established themselves as western conference giants after Mike Malone struck the right chord with the team. They’ve shaped up to be a resilient team that just won’t go down without a fight.

Sponsors and mascot

The main sponsor of the Denver Nuggets is Western Union, a worldwide financial and communications company, whose headquarters are based in Colorado.

The Nuggets’ main color schemes for their uniforms include midnight blue, sunshine yellow, and flatirons red. Moreover, the Nuggets boast one of the most entertaining mascots in the league who goes by the name, ‘Rocky the Mountain Lion.’

Achievements and History

Founded 1967
Conference Western
Division Northwest
President Josh Kroenke
General Manager Calvin Booth
Head Coach Michael Malone
Arena Pepsi Center
Championships (0)
Conference Titles (0)
Division Titles (12) ABA: (1970, 1975, 1976)

NBA: (1977, 1978, 1985, 1988, 2006, 2009, 2010, 2019, 2020)


Denver Nuggets 2021 roster

No. Player Pos Ht Wt Birth Date
5 Will Barton SF 6-6 181 January 6, 1991
10 Bol Bol PF 7-2 220 November 16, 1999
7 Facundo Campazzo PG 5-10 195 March 23, 1991
31 Vlatko Čančar PF 6-8 236 April 10, 1997
35 PJ Dozier SG 6-6 205 October 25, 1996
0 JaMychal Green PF 6-8 227 June 21, 1990
13 R.J. Hampton PG 6-4 175 February 7, 2001
14 Gary Harris SG 6-4 210 September 14, 1994
25 Isaiah Hartenstein C 7-0 250 May 5, 1998
00 Markus Howard  (TW) SG 5-10 175 March 3, 1999
15 Nikola Jokić C 6-11 284 February 19, 1995
4 Paul Millsap PF 6-7 257 February 10, 1985
11 Monte Morris PG 6-2 183 June 27, 1995
27 Jamal Murray PG 6-3 215 February 23, 1997
22 Zeke Nnaji PF 6-9 240 January 9, 2001
1 Michael Porter Jr. SF 6-10 218 June 29, 1998
Greg Whittington  (TW) PF 6-8 210 February 7, 1993