Miami Dolphins

Miami Dolphins: News, Schedule, Roster, Score, Injury Report

The Miami Dolphins joined the American professional football league in 1966. Initially, they played as part of the AFL before the two big leagues merged five years later. Following the merger, the Miami Dolphins featured in the AFC East Division, which is where they remain even today.

The 1970 move coincided with the appointment of Head Coach Don Shula, who remained with the franchise for the next 25 years.

Under Shula’s tutelage, the Miami Dolphins cobbled together the NFL’s first, and to date, the only perfect season in 1972.

Following Shula’s departure, the team’s stock dwindled from the lofty heights that were synonymous with them. Despite a decline, the Dolphins are the only team to deny Tom Brady’s New England Patriots the divisional title. They achieved the honor in 2008.

In 2019, under Head Coach Brian Flores, the franchise finished rock bottom in the AFC East with a 5-11 record.

Despite their showing, they could not secure the top draft pick for the fourth time in franchise history.

The Miami Dolphins held the top-draft pick three times. The first occasion was in the 1966 AFL draft where they drafted Illinois’ Running Back, Jim Grabowski. However, he opted to ply his trade in the NFL.

The second top-draft pick headed to Miami 42 years later in the 2008 NFL season. Here they added Michigan’s Offensive Tackle, Jake Long, to their roster.


Joe Robbie served as the original owner and founder of the team till 1990. Currently, the team owner is Stephen M. Ross. He purchased a majority of the franchise during the 2009 NFL season. At the time, he owned 95% of the team.


Miami Dolphins have won the divisional championship on 13 occasions. In five of those seasons, the franchise claimed the conference title. Furthermore, they hold a 2-3 Super Bowl record and are one of just eight teams to win the season-ending game in consecutive seasons.

Two players have won the NFL MVP award as part of the Miami Dolphins. They are Safety Jake Scott for the 1973 NFL season and Running Back Larry Csonka for the 1974 NFL season.


The Miami Dolphins made their first logo with a dolphin. In the original versions of the logo, a helmet-clad dolphin was seen leaping out of the water. It was framed with the sun at its back.

The logo embraced Miami’s coastline and thriving aquatic life. Over the years, the franchise retained the core elements with a few tweaks.

In 1997, the Miami Dolphins made the dolphin prominent and focused on sharper rays of the sun.

Ahead of their forty-eighth season, the Miami Dolphins changed things around. They introduced a new logo. Here the dolphin was seen without a helmet and was swimming in preparation to leap out of the water.

Ahead of the 2018 NFL season, the franchise tweaked their logo yet again. The navy blue infusion lasted just five seasons, while the designers darkened the color of the sun.

Miami Dolphins 2020 Roster

The Miami Dolphins have a 53-player roster for the 2020 NFL season. This comprises two quarterbacks, five running backs, seven wide receivers, three tight ends, nine offensive linemen, six defensive linemen, eight linebackers, ten defensive backs, and three special team players.

Quarterbacks 14 Ryan Fitzpatrick

1 Tua Tagovailoa

Running Backs 22 Matt Breida

27 Chandler Cox FB/TE

37 Myles Gaskin

34 Jordan Howard

32 Patrick Laird

Wide Receivers 15 Lynn Bowden

84 Isaiah Ford

19 Jakeem Grant KR/PR

86 Mack Hollins

11 DeVante Parker

10 Malcolm Perry

18 Preston Williams

Tight Ends 8 Mike Gesicki

80 Adam Shaheen

81 Durham Smythe

Offensive linemen 70 Julién Davenport T

77 Jesse Davis T

68 Robert Hunt T

73 Austin Jackson T

63 Michael Deiter C

67 Ted Karras C

75 Ereck Flowers G

66 Solomon Kindley G

78 Adam Pankey G

Defensive linemen 98 Raekwon Davis NT

56 Davon Godchaux NT

91 Emmanuel Ogbah DE

92 Zach Sieler DE

58 Jason Strowbridge DE

94 Christian Wilkins DE/FB

linebackers 55 Jerome Baker ILB

48 Calvin Munson ILB

44 Elandon Roberts ILB/FB

51 Kamu Grugier-Hill ILB

49 Samuel Eguavoen OLB

90 Shaq Lawson OLB

43 Andrew Van Ginkel OLB

53 Kyle Van Noy OLB

Defensive backs 42 Clayton Fejedelem SS

21 Eric Rowe SS

35 Kavon Frazier FS

28 Bobby McCain FS

29 Brandon Jones FS

25 Xavien Howard CB

23 Noah Igbinoghene CB

24 Byron Jones CB

40 Nik Needham CB

33 Jamal Perry CB

Special teams 50 Blake Ferguson LS

2 Matt Haack P/H

7 Jason Sanders K

Achievements and History

Founded 1965
President Tom Garfinkel
Conference AFC
Division East
Head Coach Brian Flores
Location/Stadium Hard Rock Stadium
Championships AFC East 13 (1971, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1979, 1981, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1992, 1994, 2000, 2008)

AFC 5 (1971, 1972, 1973, 1982, 1984)

Super Bowl 2 (1972, 1973)
Official website Website
Mascot TD